Cooking Chronicle: Apple Lentil Salad

Apple Lentil Salad

We still have quite a bit of the menudo left from Sunday, so I decided to make something light for today. I pulled out my Simply In Season cookbook, which provides recipes that are made with ingredients that are in season, and I found a recipe for an Apple Lentil Salad. It’s light, quick, and I have most of the ingredients already! The recipe calls for the following:

1 cup of lentils
2 tbsp of curry powder
1 tsp of salt
2 cups of water
2 tart apples (cored and diced)
1/4 cup of lemon juice or cider vinegar
2 potatoes (cooked, cooled, peeled, and chopped)
1 small onion (thinly sliced)
a handful of parsley

First, soak the lentils for 15 minutes in hot water,

Lentils soaking

then heat a 1/4 cup of olive oil- add the curry powder and salt and cook until bubbly. Drain the lentils and add to this concoction. Fry for a minute or two, then add 2 cups of water. Cook until the water is absorbed, adding more if the lentils are not soft (about 20 minutes or so). Cool this mixture. Combine the diced apples with the lemon juice (this prevents browning of the apples) and combine with cooled lentils. Mix in remaining ingredients (potatoes, onion, and parsley) and salt to taste.

I ended up using lime juice (from fresh squeezed limes!) as opposed to lemon juice. I love the taste of limes! As I was making this, I got really excited about the fresh, fragrant ingredients. Limes, granny smith apples, fresh parsley, and even the onion (I used red, my favorite).

The fresh ingredients

The other strong flavors neutralized the strong red onions, and I loved the varying textures. This is definitely something I see myself making again, and it will be packed as lunch. For Thursday, I have a bunch of fresh parsley left over, so I am going to try to use that.

One response

  1. I’m not sure if you knew this (probably not!) but its actually a Hungarian tradition to eat lentil soup on New Years Day. The idea is that the lentils represent coins, as in the more lentils in your soup, the more money you’ll make that year.

    Look at you, exemplifying a good Hunky at the new year, and not even knowing it! Not surprisingly, I hate lentils, and therefore won’t touch the stuff. Oh well.

Leave a Reply

