Cooking Chronicle: Sausage, Potato, and Spinach Soup

I watched Julie & Julia today, and I thought it was a great movie. Watching it made me think about my cooking style and what it says about me and my food. I think cooking is either an art or a science. Baking is clearly a science with all its precision and rising and preheating and measuring. I am an okay baker, but my talents are in the field of cooking. Now cooking, it’s either a science or an art. Julia Child, what little I know about her, was a scientific cook (leading me to believe that her cookbook– Mastering the Art of French Cooking– is a misnomer, it should be Mastering the Science of French Cooking) –perfecting and testing and measuring. I am an artist. I use recipes for inspiration, I typically don’t measure, and I make things up as I go along. The mystery of what I will have in the end is the fun part of cooking for me. On to today’s recipe!

I am trying very hard to waste less food. Looking around my kitchen, I noticed I had potatoes and spinach that needed used. The website Allrecipes has an awesome function. It allows you to type in ingredients that you WANT to use, as well as those you DON’T want to use, and the site’s search engine will find recipes with the specified ingredients. I simply went here and typed in potatoes and spinach. Today’s soup was inspired by one of the top recipes listed. The ingredients function is a great way to make sure that you find a use for perishables, or for making something out of what you have lying around.

For today’s recipe I used the following:

1 16oz package of hot sausage

2 onions (chopped)

3 cloves of garlic (peeled and sliced)

5 potatoes (peeled and cubed)

1 box of Trader Joe’s organic chicken broth

Leftover mushrooms from the fridge

1 package of baby spinach

1 cup of evaporated milk

1. In a frying pan, cook the onions, garlic, and sausage over medium heat until the sausage is browned. Be sure to break up the sausage!

2. Cut up your potatoes and store in a bowl covered with water

3. Add the onion, garlic, and sausage into a soup pot, with the potatoes (water and all), chicken broth, mushrooms, and water (if necessary). Boil until the potatoes are soft.

4. Add the spinach to the soup, boil until spinach is cooked.

5. Take the soup off the flame, add evaporated milk, stir and serve!

My MIL taught me a trick with potatoes, use the water that they soak or cook in as a thickener. This is especially true for making gravy. Reserve some of the water that the potatoes were boiled in and use it to mix with flour and the drippings…it makes the creamiest gravy!

I also put in about 1.5 packages of spinach. Mark and I love spinach, and we can never get enough. Also, there is just something about spinach in soup. It takes it to a whole other level. I have several soups that are never “just right” until I add the spinach.

It was love at first bite! This soup is amazing, and I think it’s going to be even better tomorrow! I was unsure about using evaporated milk, but I had some sitting here, and my inspiration recipe used it…Evaporated milk works! It’s creamy, but not heavy creamy. This soup will definitely be in my rotation. Next time, I think I will add some tomatoes to the soup.

One response

  1. That website is going to come in handy, seeing as I have almost nothing in my kitchen, and there are many many things I refuse to eat.

    Now if only I cooked?

Leave a Reply

