Cooking Chronicles: Italian Quesadillas

I am especially proud of tonight’s dinner, because I did something that I had yet to do…I used up an entire bag of potatoes! Not on one meal, but over the course of a week or so. Usually, my potatoes start growing before I can use them up! And they were even organic potatoes (non-organic fruits and veggies last longer, which is kind of scary if you think about it)!

Committing to cooking and blogging about my cooking 3 times a week has really improved my domestic life. We are eating out way less than we used to, I am wasting less food, and I am developing meals based around what we have in the house. This blogging experiment totally supports my notion that cooking is an art…I am one of those funky artists that uses household materials or something! At the beginning of the year, my goal was to consume less in the form of new clothing, however I find us consuming less at the grocery story with my cooking project, hurray!!!

Italian Quesadillas:

Flour tortillas

1/3 of an onion (diced)

2 garlic cloves (diced)

2 handfuls of mushrooms (diced)

Mozzarella Cheese (shredded)

3 potatoes (boiled, peeled, and sliced)

1 red pepper (diced)

Spinach

Sour cream

1. In a skillet, cook the onion, garlic, and mushrooms until the onions are tended. Set aside.

2. Place a flour tortilla in the skillet. Cover 1/2 with cheese, then put a layer of spinach, mushroom mixture, potatoes, and red pepper.

3. Cook until the cheese is melted, flip if desired.

4. We used sour cream as a dip, but tomato sauce works as well.

I really loved this dish. With the exception of the mushroom mixture, the veggies were fresh and crunchy. I the spinach ended up slightly steamed, but still with a bit of a crunch. The red paper, it’s sweetness, set off the other flavors. And best of all, it was ridiculously easy to cook!

Leave a Reply

