Cooking Chronicle: Veggie Pot Pie

I was talking with one of my students the other day about pot pie (I know, how? why?), and she said that it’s almost impossible to make a good pot pie at home. I accepted the challenge. Continuing with my mission from yesterday, I made a meal without going out to buy anything (though a trip to the grocery store is going to be necessary tomorrow). For example, I did not have any stock to cook with, however, I did have 1/3 a bottle of white wine…boom, replacement for stock….and mighty tasty!

Ingredients:

Crust:

1 cup of flour (I used wheat flour)

2 tsp of baking soda

2 tablespoons of butter

1/3 cup of milk

salt to taste

Filling:

1 onion (chopped)

3 cloves of garlic (chopped)

1/3 cups of flour

1.5 cups of wine or stock

basil

thyme

rosemary

1/3 cup of 1/2 and 1/2

1/2 red pepper (chopped)

2 handfuls of mushrooms (chopped)

1 handful of carrots (chopped)

2 handfuls of frozen peas

1 handful of spinach

1. Mix together the crust ingredients in a mixing bowl. Form into a ball and set aside

2. In a frying pan, warm up a splash of olive oil and add the onions and garlic. Cook until the onions are translucent.

3. Add flour to the onions, mix, and cook for 3 minutes

4. Add the white wine and spices, cook until simmering. Add 1/2 and 1/2 and allow to thicken.

5. Add the rest of the veggies and simmer until the spinach is wilted.

6. Flour a flat surface, press the dough ball out, flipping as you flatten. Using a rolling pin, roll out the dough (trying to keep it in a somewhat circular shape).

7. Put the filling in a pie pan or bowl.

8. Brush an egg wash around the edges of the bowl. Place the dough over the bowl and slice off the excess. Press the edges down against the edge of the bowl. Egg was the surface of the dough and place thin slices of butter on the dough.

9. In an oven preheated to 375, place the pot pie in the oven on a baking sheet. Cook for 1 hour or until the crust is golden and the filling is bubbling.

I really enjoyed this dish, and I think it is just as good as something you would get at a restaurant! The white wine gave the filling a unique taste, much different than your usual pot pie. It added a richness. I love cooking with wine! You know what though, I wish I had had some potatoes on hand!

One response

  1. God, you’re like, the good little wife or something. I’m loving the idea of you actually cooking a meal for Mark and yourself.

    Beats the Ramen bowl left over from three weeks ago that hasn’t so much as been rinsed, but placed on top of the microwave in our dorm room. My how you’ve grown.

    Hah.

Leave a Reply

