Cooking Chronicles: Black Bean and Rice Enchiladas

After a couple weeks of neglecting to do so, I went grocery shopping today. Trader Joe’s is pretty dead at 10ish on a Sunday morning! With all the cooking I have done lately, our freezer convenience food has stay put…leaving us with a well stocked, albeit neglected, freezer. For this trip, I wanted to stay out of the freezer aisle, with the exception of frozen veggies, like peas and corn. For you meat lovers, I promise I am not a vegetarian, we do eat mean…just not often. However,  did pick up a whole chicken that I will work with next weekend. I love cooking whole birds. For Mark and myself, we can get 3 meals out of it easy–2 days of chicken and ? and then use the carcass to make a soup. I also picked up some fish.

On to today’s meal! I had a can of black beans that came with me from Ohio that was calling out to be used. Exploring my fridge, I discovered some corn tortilla! And then it hit me–enchiladas! I love enchiladas- they are so delicious and so simple to make. I tend to lean towards chicken enchiladas, so this is something totally different for me.

Ingredients:

1 red pepper chopped

1 onion chopped

3 garlic cloves chopped

1 can of black beans drained

2 small cans of died green chilies (if you can get them fresh, do that!)

1/2 jar of salsa

1 tsp cumin

1tbsp crushed red pepper

2 cups of cooked rice

corn tortillas

sour cream

shredded cheese

1. Cook your rice, if it isn’t cooked already. 1 cup of dry rice should yield 2 cups cooked. Preheat over at 375 degrees.

2. In a frying pan, heat a tablespoon of olive oil. Add onions, red pepper, and garlic. Cook until onions are soft.

3. Add beans, green chilies, salsa, and spices to the onion mix. Lower heat and cook until boiling. Stir and continue to cook until the mixture thickens. Add rice, mix and cook until mixture is heated.

4. Oil a casserole dish. Spoon mixture onto tortilla. Be careful not to fill too much (or you won’t be able to fold into a enchilada). Sprinkle some cheese over the mixture. Roll into a cylinder, putting the open side down in the casserole dish. Repeat until the casserole is filled.

5. Spread sour cream over the top of the tortillas. Cover tortillas with cheese.

6. Cook in the over for 45 minutes.

I ended up with a ton of extra filling, but it is delicious and makes a yummy rice dish!!!!

I am normally a chicken tortilla lover–chicken, cheese, and sauce– so this was a bit richer than I am used to for my enchiladas. However, I enjoyed them quite a bit. The rice and beans make for a healthy, hearty dish. I think you can have fun with this dish–adding whatever veggies you have handy.

Leave a Reply

