Cooking Chronicles: Leek and Potato Soup

I love days off from school, extra cooking time for me! That being said, the reason for the day off is very important to keep in mind. Martin Luther King Jr. was a hero in the battle for civil liberties for ALL people. His powerful and passionate personality helped to move civil rights for all citizens forward. I find myself wondering what MLK would think of our education system today. What would he say or do about the achievement gap that is plaguing our city schools. It’s another civil rights issue in and of itself. Today is Monday, the day I normally write about education issues; I think I will return to this.

Today’s treat was so easy. I don’t care how busy you are, anyone has time to make a yummy soup like this. I am a big fan of leeks, and I only discovered them in the last year or so.

Ingredients:

1 onion chopped

2 leeks chopped

6 potatoes cleaned and in small cubes

4 cups of chicken stock (I suggest TJ’s Organic Free Range Broth)

Salt

Pepper

1 cup of heavy cream

1. Put 3 tablespoons of butter into a pot to melt. Add onions and leeks. Cook until soft.

2. Add chopped potatoes and chicken broth. Season with salt and pepper.

3. Cook over medium heat until potatoes get soft. This shouldn’t take too long, since the potatoes are chopped into small pieces.

4. Add 1 cup of heavy cream and cook for 15 more minutes on low. Be sure to stir regularly to keep from scorching.

5. Enjoy!

The soup was excellent, even better than the first time I made it. It’s so creamy and warm and chunky, perfect for a cold day!

Mark and I did a little home improvement yesterday. We got a new chair from target, and I got my second piece from Roll and Tumble Press framed. Our living room has a fancy plaster on the walls, and our landlords asked that we not nail any holes in the wall. However, I am liking the leaning picture look. Mark said this corner looks like it’s out of Better Homes and Gardens. What do you think?

Buster got a new bed. He even likes to share!

2 responses

Leave a Reply

