Having an off-day!

It’s only 9:30 in the morning, and boy am I having an off day. “Weather” was supposed to come into the area, so I was praying for a 2 hour delay this morning. It didn’t happen. The weather is so weird living in a mountain valley. We are a little more than 5,000 feet, but the city is in a valley. This morning I walked out of the house and it was raining. I drive to work, which is slightly higher than home, and it is snowing. I look up at where the mountains normally are, and I cannot see them, because the snow clouds are covering the mountains. It’s the craziest thing!

I had trouble getting up this morning. I didn’t end up wearing the outfit I planned, which resulted in me trying on 10 different things. I wasn’t feeling too good about what I wore, but I have received so many compliments from co-workers and students. I have no desire to do any work, any grading, or any planning. Not good.

In other good news, as of Wednesday, I paid off all my credit cards! With the exception of student loans, I am debt free– credit cards: check, car loan: check, and students loans: booo!!!!!! You cannot put a dollar value on education though.

This cute little gourmet grocery store that is on the way to Mark’s parents’ house in the mountains does wine tasting every Friday. Mark and I went once when we were visiting and had a great time! It was the same weekend I visited UNM and fell in love with the graduate program I am now in. This evening, we are meeting Mark’s parents at the wine tasting! I am so excited.

On the job front, Mark has pretty much secured the job for the cable access station. He is waiting for a contract to see if he wants to accept. It’s great that Mark actually has the opportunity to be selective about the position. The Interim President of the college is a fan of Mark. I keep debating on whether or not I want to work full-time and go to school part-time or if I want to be a full-time student and teach a couple college classes. Ideally, I would shift into teaching college classes and be able to focus more energy on my studies. The college Mark works at has an expanding education department, and the college is all about recruiting from within. I would love to grow into a position there.

Leave a Reply

