Cooking Chronicle: Beef Stroganoff

Two days in a row we have had meat as part of our dinner! That does not happen that frequently! We had dinner with Mark’s parents and his siblings last night, and his brother bought a couple rotisserie chickens. We were talking over dinner, and someone brought up beef stroganoff. I decided it would be a great meal to make on a day like today. When I woke up, there was snow on the ground, which is rare here. Later, it started hailing! Now the snow and ice are gone, but there is still the chill in the air. A good hearty meal is in order!

Ingredients:

Package of egg noodles

2.5 onions chopped

4 garlic cloves chopped

12 oz of mushrooms sliced (I mixed up the types of mushrooms used to vary the taste)

2lb of a beef roast cut into small chunks

3-4 cups of beef broth

4 tablespoons of lemon juice

4 tablespoons of flour

4 tablespoons of water

12 oz of sour cream

***Heavy cream

1. Put the water for the noodles on to boil in a saucepan. Cook noodles until al dente!

2. Melt some butter in a large saucepan. Add onions and garlic– cook until the onions are soft. Add the mushrooms and cook for 2-5 minutes.

3. Add the beef and cook for 1-3 minutes. Add beef broth, lemon juice (and a splash of red wine, if you have it handy, we didn’t!). Bring to a boil.

4. Mix the flour and water until smooth. Turn the flame to low, and slowly add the flour mixture. Make sure to stir the mix constantly while it reaches a boil again. Cook until the mix thickens

5. Take away from heat and let cool for a few minutes. Add sour cream until the desired consistency is achieved.

***My stroganoff was not as thick as I wanted, so I added some heavy cream to thicken it up (BTW, I love that I am the kind of person who just has heavy cream in her fridge!).

This was so yummy! Perfect for a cold day! I think I made enough for a small Russian army, but I think it will be eaten quickly by me! The lemon juice really made this meal, in my opinion. It is what gave the sauce its tangy flavor. The juice coupled with the sour cream is a tangy, perfect combination! It wasn’t as thick as some stroganoffs, but that was fine with me. I figure it will thicken when it is used as leftovers!

Leave a Reply

