Cooking Chronicles: Blackened Tuna Steaks and Macaroni and Apple Smoked Garlic Cheddar Cheese

I picked up some tuna steaks at Trader Joe’s a while back, and I wanted to do something fun with them. Normally, I soak them in soy sauce and grill them, but it was time for something different. I decided to make my own blackening/cajun seasonings…with a New Mexico kick! I came home from work and I discovered some yummy Apple Smoked Garlic Cheddar Cheese in my fridge! Mac and cheese, what a perfect side dish!

Ingredients:

1 tsp of paprika

2.5 tsp salt

1 tsp onion powder

1 tsp garlic powder

1 tsp dried red chili (a little New Mexico never hurt anyone)

1/2 tsp white pepper

1/2 tsp black pepper

1/2 tsp thyme

1/2 tsp oregano

2 1/2 tsp of TJ’s 21 Seasoning Salute (it’s a variety of spices, orange shavings, etc)

2 tuna steaks

Apple Smoked Garlic Cheddar Cheese

Noodles (I used tri-colored egg noodles)

1. Mix all the dry ingredients together. Add extra spices to taste.

2. Rinse off the tuna steaks, pat with olive oil, dip and cover in spices

3. Put a pot of water to boil for the noodles.

4. Warm olive oil in a frying pan. When hot, place tuna steaks in the pan. Cook to desired well-ness.

5. Drain noodles and over low heat add shredded cheese. Warm until cheese is melted.

Okay, I made 1 teeny mistake…I didn’t take into account that the 21 Seasonings would have salt in it!!!! If I were you, I would cut the salt down significantly, either way! Whew. It’s okay, I like salty foods, but this was a little too much. Otherwise, I was really happy with the texture of the blackening seasoning. I might add more dried red chili next time.

The mac and cheese isn’t your regular, creamy, cheese to the extreme mac and cheese. It’s basically noodles with a layer of cheese melted over them. I like it, less cheese overkill. Plus, you can use richer cheeses, like the smoked cheddar without overwhelming everyone! The smoky cheese went perfect with the spicy fish!

3 responses

  1. Stanko, tuna steak are super yummy! You can sear (sp?) them, with the center rare, and it’s yummy. It doesn’t taste anything like canned tuna. Tuna steaks are very affordable, as far as fish goes.

Leave a Reply

