Cooking Chronicles: Basil/Spinach Pesto

After reading Mandy\’s blog entry, I was intrigued. I had never heard of pesto being made with spinach. It makes sense, leafy green and all, but I am so in love with basil pesto I hadn’t ever experimented with other greens. After reading Mandy’s post, I wanted to try something new. However, I am not one to follow a recipe, so it’s a little different than Mandy’s!

Ingredients

1 bag of spinach

1 handful of basil (I had frozen some fresh basil this summer!)

3 cloves of garlic

1/3 cup of pine nuts

1/3 cup of parmesan cheese

1/2 cup of olive oil

A couple squeezes of lime juice

dash of salt

Pasta

1. Food process the spinach, garlic, basil, parm cheese, and pine nuts until smooth.

2. With the food processor running, add the olive oil and lime juice

3. Mix and add salt to taste.

4. Mix pesto in with freshly cooked pasta (I used trader joe’s basil linguine)

All in all, the pesto turned out pretty good. My food processor sucks, so it wasn’t as smooth as I would have liked. Spinach is an okay substitute for basil, but I think that basil with always be my personal favorite….

I have been really enjoying photographing my food! Mark is giving me his camera (used here) once he gets his 1D camera (if it ever gets released!). I wanted to take Mark’s photoshop class the next time he teaches it, but he said no! He’s afraid I won’t behave or something.

2 responses

Leave a Reply

