Cooking Chronicles: Creamy Green Chili Soup

Sorry about my lack of posting lately. It’s been a crazy week! I should have some exciting news on the horizon…

The last time I posted, I explained that I would be busy with school stuff and a friend visiting. Thursday was the last day for students until Tuesday! However, there was a middle school dance on Thursday evening. I chaperoned the first hour of the dance. It’s so fun to watch the middle school dynamics, dancing, and fun! After my shift, I ran home to freshen up, and then we went and met Maria for a drink. I went to graduate school with Maria. I was in the International Studies department, she was Art History. I met her because my housemate started dating her friend…I found out via facebook that Maria was going to be here for a Pop.Culture conference, and we set up some time to get together. Drinks were nice, but we were all pretty tired! I had to go to a work retreat on Friday, but Mark and Maria went to The Dog House for lunch and then the Rattle Snake Museum. I hear it was quite the good time! Yesterday, we met up to take the train to Santa Fe. The town was unusually dead, but we had drinks (I had a pineapple and chili margarita and Maria had something with a jalapeño). We walked around and then I made a pit stop at my new favorite place (thanks to Allison’s grandma) in Santa Fe, Senor Murphy\’s , which has the best caramel apples!

Keeping in the Southwest spirit, I decided to bust out some roasted green chilis I had frozen this summer to make a soup!

Ingredients:

1.5 large red onions chopped

3 cloves of garlic chopped

olive oil

2 bay leaves

oregano (preferably Mexican oregano if you can find it)

4 potatoes chopped

about 12 oz of green chili (DO NOT USE THE CANNED CRAP FROM THE TACO AISLE! Check the freezer section for frozen whole roasted chilis, if there is nothing there, go to your Mexican grocer) chopped

7-8 cups of stock

frozen corn

cumin

salt

pepper

1 cup of heavy cream

cheese

1. Warm the oil in a soup pot, add onion, garlic, bay leaves, and oregano. Cook over low heat until onions are cooked.

2. Add the broth, potatoes, green chili, corn, cumin, salt, and pepper. Cook until boiling. Turn heat to low, continue cooking until potatoes are tended.

3. Add heavy cream and cook for an additional 10 minutes, allowing soup to thicken.

4. Serve with cheese over top.

Whoa! This soup was incredibly hot! I used way too much green chili–that batch was fierce! The taste was wonderful, if my lips could only handle the heat. Mark is going to take it up north to share with some of his students!

One response

Leave a Reply

