Cooking Chronicles: Green Chile Stew

I may be overstepping here, but I do believe that I made the greatest green chile stew, second only to The Frontier. Sometime last week (I believe), I made a creamy green chile soup. Mark and I enjoyed it so much that I wanted to make another green chile stew. I went the more traditional route this time.

Ingredients:

1.5 lbs of pork roast, cut into small chunks

1 onion chopped

6 potatoes chopped

6 garlic cloves chopped

1 13oz container of roasted green chile (the frozen stuff, I had Bueno brand)

Frozen corn

3.5 cups of broth

tomatoes (I was actually out of tomatoes, so I used a TJ’s salsa)

Salt to taste

1. In a soup pot, add garlic and pork to warmed olive oil. Cook on low heat for 4 minutes, allowing to brown.

2. Add potatoes and onions and cook for an additional 4 minutes.

3. Add broth, green chile, corn, and salsa to the pork mixture. Salt to taste. Turn to medium and heat until boiling.

4. Reduce heat and cool on low for 30 minutes, or until the potatoes have softened.

Like I said above, this soup turned out amazingly yummy! I am glad I added the corn, it added the right amount of sweetness to the spicy green chile soup. It was the first time I used frozen packaged green chile (we had been surviving on roasted chiles I bought over the summer and then stored in the freezer), and I was pretty impressed with the Bueno brand. Also, in a tight spot, salsa works as a great substitute for tomatoes!!!

One response

Leave a Reply

