Salad Nicoise (without green beans)

After a much too long hiatus of this blog, I am back and making some mighty tasty dishes! I managed to abandon both blogging and cooking for some time, I just didn’t prioritize it. However, I have found myself back in the kitchen with a renewed desire to cook, photograph, and blog.

The meal I am blogging about today, Salad Nicoise (without green beans) I actually made twice this weekend, because it was so freaking delicious and perfect for a hot summer day. I describe it as the quintessential French salad, but I am not sure if that’s really true. I had it for the first time in France, though. I love this salad because it has potatoes in it, and I have been on a major potato kick lately (mostly because Trader Joe’s sells tri-colored potatoes and I get a kick out of cooking purple potatoes). Anyhow, this salad and dressing is amazingly easy to create, and it will knock your socks off. It’s filling, it’s rich, and it sure beats a boring old “garden salad” you’d get at your local restaurant.

Ingredients:

1/2 lb of potatoes chunked

1/4 cup of chopped parsley

1 small onion thinly sliced

1 can of tuna

1/2 lb mixed salad greens

3 hard boiled eggs sliced

3 roma tomatoes sliced thinly

capers

1 tin of anchovies

Dressing:

1 lemon, zested and juiced

1 teaspoon of dijon mustard

3 tablespoons red wine vinegar

3 tablespoons of olive oil

salt and pepper

1. I started off by making up the dressing, which essentially requires you mix the above ingredients. Play with the portions the first time I followed this exactly and got a pretty true vinaigrette, however the second time I was trying to get more of a dijon taste, so I kept adding and adding dijon and it turned out to be a pretty thick dressing (though delicious).

2. While making the dressing, in separate pots, cover the eggs and potatoes with water and cook over medium high heat. When the eggs begin to boil, turn the water off and cover with a lid for 10-12 minutes. To prevent shell sticking, make sure to salt the water! Let the potatoes continue to simmer until they are firm, but easily smash with you hold them. Rise both off with cool water.

3. Combine the potatoes, onions, parsley, tuna, eggs, and tomatoes into a bowl and pour the dressing over the mixture. Refrigerate for an hour or so.

4. Mix the greens and the veggies and then add the capers and anchovies.

I think the key to this salad is the thinly sliced veggies. I sharpened my knives and made the onions and tomatoes so thin they were practically translucent. Especially with the onions, it made the taste fresh and crisp, as opposed to overwhelming. The capers and anchovies added a nice, salty kick to the salad. This salad will definitely be a favorite in my house.

Check back later, I just finished making a marinade for salmon for a goodbye dinner for our wonderful landlords/neighbors/friends….Ben and Katya. I combined red wine, soy sauce, and dijon mustard!

2 responses

Leave a Reply

