Cabbage, Potato, and Sausage Soup

I have been nursing a chest cold since I got back from Vietnam. Fortunately, it only seems to flare up in the morning and at night, but it’s Friday, and I worked all day up in Santa Fe, so I needed something comforting to eat. We had a beautiful head of cabbage in the fridge, waiting to be used, so I wanted to make a soup with it. I also picked up some pork sausage (for something I was going to make Sunday, but it’s not going to happen), and I had onions and potatoes in the fridge. Poof, a hearty soup in the making, perfect for snuggling up in comfy pajamas and reading a good book (which is what I am doing!).

Ingredients:

1 lb pork sausage

1 onion chopped

3 cloves of garlic chopped

2 cups of finely chopped cabbage

5 potatoes chopped (I left the skins on, and these were small potatoes)

4 cups of tomato juice

4 cups of water

2 tablespoons of marjoram

salt and pepper to taste

Cooking Instructions:

1. In a little bit of olive oil, cook the onions and garlic until tender in a stock pot.

2. Add the sausage and cook until done and crumbly.

3. Add the tomato juice and water, stir, and then add the cabbage, potatoes, and spices.

4. Bring to a boil over high heat, and then turn down to low heat and simmer for 20 minutes, or until the potatoes are tender.

I ended up simmering the soup for about 40 minutes, because I wanted the potatoes to break down and get to the point where they practically melt. The soup was just what I needed. It certainly wasn’t the most impressive or the most complicated thing in the world, but it’s warm, filling, and yummy.

I am enjoying a cup, reading my book, and listening to Buster snore.

One response

Leave a Reply

