Belated Thanksgiving Prepping!

Today was crazy, I prepped so much stuff for our dinner tomorrow. My husband was a saint, helping me get the kitchen cleaned before, during, and after cooking! Tonight, I made my grandpa’s homemade noodles, a cranberry-horseradish dish, stuffing (regular and vegetarian), and I prepped the bird for putting into the oven tomorrow morning! Whew! It wasn’t too bad, and the only thing I need to do tomorrow is baste the bird.

Pa’s Homemade Noodles:

These are so easy to make, and I only ever seem to remember to make them during Thanksgiving. My grandpa’s traditional recipe cooks them in chicken broth, with the turkey neck and gizzards from the bird, but I wanted to make this a dish that my vegetarian friends could enjoy as well. Therefore, I cooked the noodles in vegetable broth. Not sure I like the change, but my non-meat-eating friends are worth it!

Ingredients:

1 cup of flour

1 egg

2/3 cup of water

salt

chicken stock (or in this case, veggie stock)

Instructions:

1. In a mixing bowl, add the flour and egg.

2. Add water gradually, mixing as you go along. This should become a drier mixture. Add flour or water as necessary.

3. Add salt to taste, and kneed more.

4. Remove the dough from the bowl, flour and roll out into a 1/4 inch thick flat piece of dough.

5. Role the dough up, like a cigar, and then cut the dough about 1/2 or so thick (so it looks like you are cutting little cinnamon rolls).

6. In a sauce pan, add the chicken stock, and cook until boiling. Add the noodles, and simmer over medium high heat until the noodles are cooked through, about 20 minutes.

7. The noodles and stock will thicken, add more stock as you like.

 

Cranberry Horseradish Dish

Last year I was listening to NPR in the car, when a woman began talking about this cranberry recipe that people go crazy over, though it looks a little….gross—and sounds even grosser. However, when I heard the ingredients–fresh cranberries, horseradish, and sour cream—I knew I would love the dish. And I did, and so did my husband, and so did my husband’s family. I had to make it again this year. It’s one of the few recipes I follow letter-by-letter, and you can access it here.

Refrigerator Pickles

My husband and I have been enjoying the homemade pickles I made last week–we are down to the last couple pickles. Since I had cucumbers left, and they are pretty easy to make, I made some more for our party. You can check out the recipe here.

 

Apple & Cranberry Stuffing

The last thing I did today was my favorite, making homemade stuffing!!!! My recipe is a hybrid of my grandfather’s sage & sausage recipe and this recipe from allrecipes.com. I actually did two batches of stuffing, one with sausage and turkey stock, and the other sans the meat and meat stock! I love this stuffing, hopefully everyone else will as well.

 

Stuffing with sausage

 

 

Ingredients:

3.5 cups of white bread chopped into chunks

1.5 cups of wheat bread chopped into chunks

2 small onions, chopped

1 lb of sausage (I vary the types I use, this time it was sweet Italian chicken sausage)–no sausage if vegetarian

4 tablespoons of fresh sage-torn

1 teaspoon of rosemary

1 teaspoon of thyme

1/2 cup of celery

2 green apples, chopped and cored

1 cup of dried cranberries

1-2 turkey livers, cooked and chopped (no liver for vegetarians!)

4 tablespoons of butter, melted

1 cup of turkey stock (or veggie stock)

 

Instructions:

1. In an oven, preheated at 350, bake the bread chunks. Place in a bowl to cool.

2. Cook the onions and sausage in a frying pan, until the sausage begins to brown. Be sure to break up the sausage into little chunks.

3. Add the fresh sage, rosemary, thyme, and celery, cooking for 2-5 minutes–mixing the flavors.

4. Add the sausage mix, apples, cranberries, and liver to the bread, mixing together.

5. Add the butter and stock, mixing well.

 

Vegetarian stuffing

 

 

With sausage

 

 

6. Stuff the stuffing into the bird. If you have excess or are making a vegetarian version, be sure to have extra stock on hand to add as you are cooking the stuffing.

 

I am looking forward to sharing food with my friends….they are bringing the side dishes. I have had good luck in the past with turkeys, so hopefully this one turns out well. I will post the completed turkey tomorrow!!!!!

 

Leave a Reply

