Posole & Vegetarian Green Chile Stew

I actually made these soups yesterday, in order to prepare for the belated Thanksgiving dinner we are holding for family and friends. I figured most soups get better when they are reheated, so it was the perfect thing to make a couple days early–avoiding stress and a stove-top traffic jam.

I have a couple friends who are vegetarian, so I wanted to make something that would be hearty for them, as well as delicious. Thanksgiving, at least in my family, is pretty meat oriented–turkey, stuffing with sausage, homemade noodles cooked in broth and the turkey innards, etc. I am pretty proud of the vegetarian soup; I think it is going to be delicious!

Posole


Ingredients:

3-4 lb pork roast

2 packages of frozen hominy

2 onions diced

3 cloves of garlic

2 tablespoons of oregano (mexican oregano works best)

3 quarts of water

Instructions

1. In a large stock pot, place the roast and hominy in the bottom, covering with water. Cook over high heat until the water begins to boil, and then turn heat to medium-low. Cook covered for 30 minutes. Stir occasionally, and skim the fat off the top.

2. Add the onions, garlic, and spices. Heat until boiling. Turn the heat to low, and cook covered for an additional hour, or until the hominy bursts.

Posole is served with red chile sauce. Some recipes call for it to be added directly to the soup. I was introduced to it being served on the side, so people can add the sauce at their disgression. I prefer it this way. I went the lazy route, and bought pre-made red chile, from Bueno Foods.

Vegetarian Green Chile Stew


Ingredients:

1 package of frozen hominy

1 can of diced tomatoes

4 small potatoes diced

3 cloves of garlic

2 onions, chopped

1 package of green chile (out here, we get fresh roasted green chile in the fall and freeze it, it comes in a typical sandwich bag sized baggie)

Water

Instructions:

1. In a stock pot, add garlic and onions to oil and cook until soft.

2. Add the posole, potatoes, and water to the mix, cooking until boiling.

3. Add the tomatoes and green chile. Cook until boiling, and then reduce the heat to medium-low, cooking for an hour or so, until the hominy bursts.

4. Note: add spices at your digression. I added oregano and salt.


I cooked these only for an hour, and the hominy had not yet burst. Since I am serving it a couple days later, I will have to reheat it, and I plan on letting it simmer for an hour or so. I will let you know after Saturday how everyone liked it!

 

Leave a Reply

