Chicken & Spinach Soup

I’ve been craving a good, brothy soup for a couple days now. After my ridiculous long commute home from Santa Fe (normally an hour, but because of snow it was 2 hours and 15 minutes), my husband made his own soup for us (chicken broth with carrots, spinach, and rice noodles), but I still want more. Being inspired by my husband’s soup and what we had in the fridge, I came up with this dish.

Ingredients

2 cloves of garlic minced

1 onion chopped

1 shallot minced

2 lbs of chicken breast, chopped in 1 inch pieces

fresh basil torn

a couple handfuls of baby carrots, chopped

2 stalks of celery, sliced

1 can of diced tomatoes (get rid of as much juice as possible)

1 32 box of chicken broth

water (enough to cover the chicken & veggies by an inch or so)

8 oz of slice mushrooms

8 oz of baby spinach

Directions:

1. In a large pot, add olive oil, onions, garlic, and shallots. Cook over medium-high heat until soft.

2. Tear a couple basil leaves and add to the onions. Stir & let cook for 1-2 minutes.

3. Add the chicken, carrots, celery, tomatoes, broth, and water. Heat until boiling over medium-high heat. Turn heat to medium-low and simmer over 20 minutes.

4. Add the mushrooms and spinach to the soup. Simmer for about 10 minutes.

One thing I have been doing recently is using a lot of fresh herbs. They really add to a dish. The basil with the onions created a beautiful basil smell almost instantly. Yum. Also, you can often find fresh herbs for very cheap in the produce section. If they are close to their sell-by date, you can get them for as little as 25 cents! The great thing is, herb freeze very easily and are ALMOST as good as fresh.

I ALMOST got this soup perfect. I wish I had a lemon on hand, a little lemon juice would add the perfect zing to the broth. Even without the lemon juice, the soup was yummy. I warmed me up and filled me up. I loved the lack of noodles. I think sometimes noodles sometimes takes over the soup. It was nice to have a filling soup with veggies and chicken.

On another note, we read somewhere that you can plant garlic cloves to grow your own garlic indoors. However, it only works with organic garlic, because non-organic garlic has an anti-sprouting agent added to it. We just planted the cloves last week, and check out how quickly it’s grown!

Garlic Sprouting

Leave a Reply

