Feast of 7 Fishes: Lobster in Filo Cups

I have been cooking for this feast since Monday. Seriously. The salt cod had to soak in water for a couple days, to release the salt, so I started that on Monday. However, I also wanted to try to get some other stuff done, to make my cooking duties a little bit easier on Christmas Eve. So on Tuesday I made the first appetizer, Lobster in Filo Dough Cups, which was my adaptation of the Lobster in Puff Pastry. I discovered mid-cooking that the recipe on the Yum Yum website was all jacked up, so here is how I did it.

Ingredients:

1 1/2 cups of cook lobster (this was three small lobster tails) + 1 cup of white wine, thyme, bay leaf

2 tablespoons of butter

2 tablespoons of chopped green onions

2 tablespoons of flour

1/2 cup of milk

1/2 cup of whipping cream

1/2 cup of white wine

juice of 1/2 lemon (just a light squeeze)

salt pepper

filo dough shells (I found them already shaped into little cups)

Instructions:

1. To cook the lobster tail, I steamed it with 1 cup of white wine, a teaspoon of thyme, and half a bay leaf. Simply put the wine and spices in a sauce pan, heat until boiling and the wine is slightly reduced. Place the lobster tails in the pan with lid, and let steam for 5 minutes. Make sure to give the pan some vigorous shakes to spread the spices. Pull the meat from the lobster tails and break apart.

2. In a sauce pan, melt the butter, add the green onions and cook for 2-3 minutes. Add the flour to create a roux.

3. Add the milk and 1/2 & 1/2. Heat until the mixture begins to bubble and thicken.

4. Add the remaining ingredients, wine, lobster, salt, pepper, and lemon. Allow to thicken.

5. Divide the creamy lobster mixture to the filo cups.

Since I made these on Tuesday, I put them back in the filo dough container and I put them in the freezer. I plan to throw them into the toaster oven on Friday, and they will be the first course. I can tell you this, I had some leftover creamy lobster mix, and it was delicious. I ate it on water crackers. So creamy, and I am not a big lobster fan.

 

2 responses

  1. Pingback: Feast of 7 Fishes: In Review « Food & Photos

Leave a Reply

