Creamy Potato Soup with Dill

Our CSA box was full of yummy winter veggies–garlic, potatoes, and onions, among other things. I decided to make a potato soup, which I supplemented with some fresh dill, leeks, and cream I had leftover from the holiday. I went pretty easy on the spicing, and I was worried it would be bland, by my husband (who loves salt and pepper) said that it was perfect, because the minimal spicing allows for the dill flavor to really stand out.

Creamy Potato Soup with Dill

Ingredients:

6 potatoes peeled & chopped

1/2 large red onion, chopped

2 leeks, chopped

18 oz of chicken broth

2 cups of water

8-10 sprigs of fresh dill

1 1/2 cup of heavy cream

Instructions:

1. In a stock pot, add the potatoes, broth, water, and dill. Simmer over medium high heat for 20-25 minutes (or until the potatoes are soft).

2. In a frying pan, add butter or olive oil (I used butter this time), and cook the leeks and onions for 5-10 minutes, or until soft.

3. Add the leeks and onions to the soup (after the potatoes are soft). Simmer until boiling. Scoop some of the soup into the blended (about half full) with minimal liquid. Puree the mixture, and add back to the soup to thicken.

4. Add the heavy cream to the soup, still and allow to warm up and thicken.

Soup Ready to Eat!

Being the soup lovers we are, we really enjoyed this soup. I was surprised that my husband likes it as much as he did, as I thought it was a little bland. However, once my husband mentioned the dill taste standing out, I began to notice and enjoy it as well. I guess my tastebuds are always looking for their preferred taste, salt.

This was probably one of the easiest meals I have ever made. It was quick and easy.

Sorry I am not more verbal and descriptive. I hit my head on the freezer door, pulling out the duck for this weekend’s meal, and I have a terrible headache (as well as a HUGE goose-egg.

One last thing, I have been buying the fresh herbs on clearance at grocery stores, for 25 or 99 cents, and then freezing them in a ziplock bag. Awesome.

Leave a Reply

