Corn Bisque

We don’t use much milk in my house. Heavy cream, half-and-half, yes….milk, no. However, one of my Christmas Eve recipes called for milk, so I had some milk on the brink of going bad. I didn’t want to waste it (organic milk is pricy!), so I decided to make a milk-based soup. I had some frozen langostino, and on the back there was a recipe for a langostino bisque. We had it for dinner last night. I added corn to the soup, and I discovered that I actually liked the corn in the creamy soup more than the shellfish. The recipe was a small one, so I had plenty of milk left to make my corn bisque!

 

Corn Bisque

 

 

Ingredients:

1/2 cup butter (1 stick)

6 tablespoons of flour

6 cups of milk

frozen corn

thyme

salt

pepper

Instructions:

1. Melt the butter in a medium pot over low heat. Add the flour. Mix and stir over low heat until the mixture is bubbly.

2. Add the milk. Turn the heat up to medium. As the milk warms, add the thyme, salt, and pepper, to taste.

3. Once the milk begins to boil (do not wait until it’s heavily boiling), add the corn. I added almost an entire bag of frozen corn, but it’s up to you.

4. Cook over medium heat for 10 minutes. Stir occasionally.

The soup should be nice and thick. I love the contrast of the creamy base with the sweet, crisp taste of the corn. It’s a pretty good use of milk that’s nearing expiration! I want to keep experimenting with the soup…there’s something not quite right with the flavor. It needs more seasoning, but I am not sure exactly what I need to add. Maybe pepper….we ran out of ground pepper, so I was stuck grinding peppercorns with more mortar and pestle. Now that I am thinking about it, maybe what it needs is a dash of cayenne pepper….

 

Grinding Pepper

 

 

One response

Leave a Reply

