Fresh Orange Cake

I’m not a baker. I don’t eat a lot of sweets, and baking is too exact for my tastes. However, we have a TON of oranges from our Los Poblanos Organics CSA box. I wanted to use the oranges before they went bad, so I googled “desserts with oranges” and “fresh orange desserts.” I tripped upon a recipe at ifood.tv for an orange cake. I mostly followed the recipe (except that I used 1/4 cup of half-and-half and 1/4 cup of heavy cream and I added an extra 1/4 cup of juice from an orange), so I won’t retype it. Click on the ifood.tv link above.

 

Orange Cake

 

 

I didn’t make the frosting, because I didn’t have cornstarch handy, and I also wanted to do a lighter whipped topping with fresh fruit on top. However, I ended up trying a bit of the cake naked, and I inhaled it! It was such a yummy cake alone! A nice orange flavor, and I managed to cook it until it had a nice golden crust around the edges.

Leave a Reply

