New Year’s Eve Appetizers!

I spent a good chunk of my afternoon on New Year’s Eve at the eye doctor. As I was driving home, I realized that I had to make an appetizer for the New Year’s Eve party we were attending later in the evening. I had no idea what I was going to make, but I didn’t want to go home and then back out to get ingredients, so I stopped at Smiths and got some yummy crusty bread. I came home and discovered I had mushrooms, heavy cream, green onions, and a bag of shredded swiss & gruyere cheese. I decided to make a mushroom cheesy dip! It turned out pretty good, it was thick and hearty. Also, it was nice because the party was thrown by a vegetarian, and most the dishes were vegetarian, the mushrooms provided a hearty, meaty texture to the food samplings.

Ingredients:

16 oz of sliced mushrooms (I had both white button and crimini mushrooms)

butter

1 cup of sour cream

1 small onion chopped

1/2 cup of shredded swiss & gruyere cheese

3 tablespoons of dijon mustard

green onions

salt

pepper

Instructions:

1. In a large skillet, add the butter, mushrooms, and onions. Cook over medium heat until the mushrooms are cooked.

2. Add the sour cream, dijon mustard, salt, pepper, and a handful of green onions.

3. Transfer the mixture to a dish for baking. Give it one last taste, and adjust spices. Bake for 20 minutes at 375 degrees, or until bubbly and a golden crust has developed.

4. Serve with crusty bread.

Like I said above, this was pretty well received. I especially loved the kick the dijon mustard provides. Trader Joe has amazing, pretty authentic (using Paris as a gauge) dijon mustard. This was super easy to make, and it was pretty quick. I think the nice thing about this recipe is that it is pretty adaptable, throw in some artichokes or garlic.

 

Leave a Reply

