Vegetable Soup

Thinking about the remaining produce from our CSA box, I decided to make a nice vegetable soup. I was thinking minestrone-ish, but it deviates from minestrone quite a bit. As an added bonus, this soup did not require me to go out and buy and addition ingredients, they all came from my (pretty sparsely filled) kitchen.

Ingredients:

2 onions, chopped in small pieces

3 stalks of celery, chopped in small pieces

2 tablespoons of Italian Seasoning

Olive oil

2 sweet potatoes, diced

2 potatoes, diced

3 large carrots, diced

2 cans of diced tomatoes (I used one plain and one with green chile, it added some heat!)

1.5 cups of frozen corn

1.5 cups of frozen peas

5 garlic cloves, minced

water

small noodles (prepared outside the soup, cold water shocked), add as desired

1/2 cup of hemp seeds

Instructions

1. In a soup pot, heat the olive oil. Add the onions, celery, and Italian Seasoning. Cook until the onions are soft, around 5 minutes.

2. Add the tomatoes, potatoes, sweet potatoes, peas, carrots, corn, and garlic. Then add enough water to cover the veggies,plus and additional three inches or so. Make it soupy, as opposed to stew-like. I just filled my pot to the top. Heat over medium high heat until boiling. Turn down to low and simmer over low heat for 30 minutes.

3. Add the prepared noodles and stir. Adjust seasoning as needed.

This soup turned out better than I anticipated. The one can of tomatoes with green chile added some spice to the soup…a little more than I wanted. This is a very fresh tasting soup, with pretty minimal spicing, and veggies fresh from my CSA box. I am usually a cream soup lover, but lately I have been craving brothy soup. I am pretty happy with this broth, especially since it was a water (as opposed to veggie or chicken stock) base. I guess sometimes we just need to let the taste of the veggies shine through! I think cooking the noodles outside of the soup was a good call. I hate the way noodles and rice suck out all the broth. Hopefully this prevents the broth suckage. Also, it allows people to have more or less noodles in their soup, depending on their preference.

 

 

Leave a Reply

