Sesame Israeli Cous Cous with Tofu

I very easily just ate the best summer salad of my life. Two large bowls, and if my husband doesn’t get home soon, there may not be any left for him. When doing my meal planning for the week, I discovered a recipe in my Simply in Season cookbook for cous cous with chicken. I prefer Israeli cous cous to the traditional kind (it’s bigger, and almost pasta-like), and I had tofu handy….so I modified.

Sesame Israeli Cous Cous with Tofu

Ingredients:

1.5 cups of chicken stock

1 tablespoon of soy sauce

1 tablespoon of sesame oil

1 cup of Israeli cous cous

1 red bell pepper, chopped

3 green onions chopped

2 cups of snap peas

1 cup of tofu, diced

cayenne pepper

1/4 cup of lemon juice

2 tablespoons of soy sauce

2 tablespoons of olive oil

1 tablespoon of sesame oil

pepper

Instructions

1. Put the chicken stock, soy sauce, and sesame oil in a sauce pot. Bring to a boil. Add the cous cous, turn off heat, and cover. Let sit for 15 minutes, until the liquid is absorbed.

2. In a serving container, mix the green onions, red peppers, and cous cous. Put in the fridge to keep cool.

3. Steam the snap peas for about 1 minute. Add to the cous cous mixture.

4. Pan fry the the tofu for texture, cook until golden brown on the outside. I also added a little cayenne pepper for kick. Add to the cous cous mixture.

5. Mix the remaining ingredients into a dressing, and drizzle over the cous cous mixture. Mix well.

6. Garnish with sesame seeds or nuts.

Bad photo, good food

This was so freaking yummy. I am in love with the dressing. I think I’ll have to make it for salads soon. We’ve been on a dijon vinaigrette kick, but it never hurts to add a new flavor to the mix. While the salad was easy to make, there were quite a few steps in the process…not ideal when someone is trying to finish up their term research papers!

How much did this meal cost? 

I had quite a few of the ingredients, but based on what I bought Sunday:

3 green onions ~ $.20

Red pepper ~ $1.50

Snap peas ~ $1.29

Lemons (2) ~ $.50

Total: $3.49

Not really, but it’s what I have handy. I used half a brick of tofu, roughly a dollar. I think the cous cous was 2 or 3 dollars….still, that’s under $8.00 for an organic and healthy meal!

One response

Leave a Reply

