Mango & Red Pepper Pizza

Today was my first day of vacation. I kept panicking that I was forgetting to do something. I had to keep reminding myself that there’s nothing for me to do! Well, nothing pressing. My kitchen has been a disaster area since I got pregnant. I didn’t have the energy to clean it, in fact I avoided the room all together. We did some other cleaning and the kitchen became a storage space for our junk. Today, I fixed that.

I’d been really interested in trying out natural cleaning supplies (i.e. homemade) for a while. As few chemicals we are exposed to, the better. So I went out and bought some white vinegar, baking soda, and spray bottles. I was very impressed with what I found. 1 part water & 1 part vinegar makes an amazing everyday cleaner. Baking soda mixed with water until it is the consistency of frosting is a FANTASTIC heavy duty cleaner. Our terribly dirty burner beds on the stove are restored to their original (errr, at the original to when we moved in, we have an old-school stove) beauty.

Our awesome stove

After hours, actually hours of cleaning the kitchen, I made a batch of fridge pickles and I experimented with pickled asparagus. I’ll blog about them tomorrow, after they’ve soaked up the quick-briney goodness.

For dinner today, we are having pizza with a little Indian & Middle Eastern kick. I found the recipes at this site: original recipe and I knew I wanted to try it. I made some modifications, based on available ingredients and whatnot. Trader Joe’s only had naan in a weird shape, so I opted for a Middle Eastern whole wheat flatbread.

Mango and Red Pepper Pizza

Ingredients:

Trader Joe’s Whole Wheat Middle Eastern Flatbread

1 cup of organic basil tomato sauce

2 tablespoons of organic plain yogurt

Cumin & turmeric to taste (gives it the Indian taste)

Shredded organic mozzarella cheese

Mango (I used frozen ones from Tj’s and they worked fine)

1/2 red pepper

1/4 onion

Dried mint

Instructions:

1. Preheat the oven to 325. I used the toaster oven, because our big guy takes forever to preheat.

2. Mix the tomato sauce, yogurt, and spices. Taste to ensure desired spiciness.

3. Cut up the mango, onion, and red pepper into pizza-sized chunks.

4. Spread the sauce onto the flatbread, layer on the cheese, and the veggies.

Most of the fixins'

5. Cook for 12-15 minutes until the cheese in the center is melted. I placed it directly on the rack, for crispiness.

Before being cooked

O.M.G. this may be the greatest pizza I’ve ever tasted. Seriously, I think I could put the fancy pizza place out of business with this pizza. And I don’t even care for mango (the hubs loves it). The spices and yogurt to the sauce added the perfect Indian kick. And the spicy onion with the mango sweetness, plus the red pepper. YUMMY. Note to the cook: if you do use frozen mango, have the foresight to thaw them first. My toaster oven was hissing away as they thawed while cooking!

Cost:

Flat bread $2.29

1/4 jar of tomato sauce ~ $.60

1/2 red pepper ~ $.50

1/3 bag of frozen mangos ~ $.43

1/4 onion ~$.15

1/2 package of cheese ~$2.00

Total: ~$6.03 

And at this price, there’s plenty of leftovers for late-night (Mark) or early morning (me) snacks! Oh, and all the veggies, yogurt, sauce, and cheese were organic. Only the flatbread was not.

One response

  1. I tried the natural cleaners last Fall. I hate doing the windows with them. I Googled several different vinegar recipes and I washed the windows several times(as they recommend after using Windex and others)and I couldn’t get them to look good. I even wiped them with crinkled newspaper-still streaky. Last week I dug out the Windex and started doing them and what a difference, they look clean again-lol.

Leave a Reply

