Fridge Pickles, Pickled Asparagus, and Dijon Deviled Eggs

I’ve been cooking like a mad woman! It’s been so nice to have time to cook. I’ve loved being home with my husband, and enjoying food together again. Not having nausea is also nice…makes it easier to cook great food. I’d been focusing on meals, mostly dinner, but I wanted to give some attention to snack-like foods. Cucumbers and asparagus were on sale, so I decided to make fridge pickles (again) and pickled asparagus (an experiment).

If you recall, I made the fridge pickles back in December and we loved them. I’d loved pickled asparagus since my Athens, OH days, where you could get a bloody mary with a pickled asparagus at Casa. I used the same brine mixture as last time, which you can access here.

The pickles were as good as the last time. I was worried about the asparagus; I just assumed it would work. And it did! I loved my pickled asparagus. I couldn’t even wait until they had sat overnight. I had a couple last night, and they were tart and crunchy.

Pickled Asparagus

Fridge Pickles

I woke up this morning, and as I was preparing to get my day started, I decided to use the last 1/2 dozen eggs in the fridge to make deviled eggs. I didn’t think the 1/2 dozen would last us another week, so I’d need to buy more eggs anyhow…and I wanted to have more snacky stuff around the house.

I’m not a fan of regular mustard, so I used dijon, as well as some fresh and dried dill. Mark referred to them as “fancy.” We ended up eating them for breakfast.

Dijon Deviled Eggs

Ingredients:

1/2 dozen hard boiled eggs

1/2 cup mayo

1 heaping tablespoon of dijon mustard

1 teaspoon of white wine vinegar

1 teaspoon of dillweed

fresh dill

Instructions:

1. Cut the eggs in half from top to bottom, plopping the yolk into a bowl.

2. Add the mayo, mustard, vinegar, and dillweek to the yolks and mix together.

3. Spoon the mixture into the egg halves.

4. Garish with fresh dill

Dijon Deviled Eggs

Leave a Reply

