Gazpacho

Mark left on Wednesday, the same day that I made a huge batch of gazpacho. It was too bad for him, because it was pretty darn good. Because he left, and I did not want to waste any of the gazpacho, I ended up having it both for lunch and dinner. Yum.

Again, I failed at taking a picture. I was snacking on it over the course of days, I assumed I would eventually get a picture! Wrong!

Also, I preface by saying that this is probably not the best gazpacho. I ended up using canned tomatoes, because I had them handy, and because the tomatoes are not quite a their peak in taste. I plan to remake this once it prime tomato time…with fresh tomatoes!

Ingredients:

2 large cans of diced tomatoes (28 oz, I believe)

1 large cucumber diced

1 green pepper diced

1/3 cup of white wine vinegar

1/4 cup of olive oil

2-3 cups of water

Salt, pepper, and tabasco to taste

Instructions:

1. Dump the first can of tomatoes directly into the blender. Blend briefly.

2. In a large bowl, combined blended tomatoes, tomatoes, cucumbers, green peppers, vinegar, oil, and spices. Mix well, and let sit in the fridge for 2-3 hours.

3. Add the water to the soup, based on desired taste.

4. Eat chilled, and feel free to add other veggies as condiments!

Cost: 

2 large cans of diced tomatoes (28 oz, I believe) ~ $3.00

1 large cucumber diced ~$1.00

1 green pepper diced ~$.93

Total: ~$4.93


Leave a Reply

