Quinoa Tabbouleh & Pizza

I have ridiculous amounts of quinoa in my pantry. I think that every time I went to TJ’s I bought a box, or something. If you’ve never had it, it’s a great and tasty grain. I use it in place of brown rice, because it cooks much quicker than brown rice. However, when I was thinking of recipes to cook this weekend, I wanted to use some quinoa and in a more creative way. Thinking about produce I would have for the week, it seemed like the perfect opportunity to do a play on tabbouleh…except with quinoa instead of bulgar.

Quinoa Tabbouleh

Ingredients:

2 cups of water

1 cup of uncooked quinoa

1 cucumber diced

3 roma tomatoes diced

1.5 cups of diced parsely

1/4 cup of olive oil

1/2 cup of lemon juice

salt to taste

Instructions:

1. Put the water in a saucepan and bring to a boil. Add the quinoa and turn down the heat. Cook for 15 minutes, or until all the water is absorbed and the little ring around the quinoa grains appear. Cool quinoa.

2. In a serving bowl, add the diced tomatoes, parsley, and cucumbers. Add the olive oil, lemon juice, and salt. Mix well.

3. When the quinoa is cooled, add to the veggie mix. Mix well. Refrigerate and serve cold.

Made enough to take to a potluck!

I really liked this dish, as did Mark. It hasn’t even been 24 hours and there’s just a small bowl left. It’s definitely different than the bulgar, consistency wise, but it still reminds me of the real thing. I think I’ll add more parsley the next time; this dish is one of the few opportunities parsley has to show off!

Cost:

Quinoa ~ $1.00

Cucumber ~ $1.00

3 tomatoes ~$1.40

Parsley ~$.30

Total ~ $3.70

Green Pepper and Mushroom Pizza

I’ve had these pizza crusts sitting in my pantry for a while. I bought them on a whim. It was a “pizza kit” and it came with 3 shells and 3 packs of sauce for $10.00. I’d previously used one for a sweet potato sauce pizza, and I wanted to work on getting rid of the rest. So we had pizza for dinner. It was also a great opportunity to get rid of the last of my mushrooms and green peppers for the week, well, almost. I still have 1/2 a green pepper and 4 mushrooms.

Ingredients:

1 pizza shell

1 packet of pizza sauce

Mozzarella cheese (or a “pizza blend”) shredded

Various veggies & toppings

Instructions:

1. Per the pizza kit box, preheat the over to 450. Prior to putting the pizza in the oven, drop the temperature to 425.

2. Lightly coat the shell with olive oil. Spread the sauce on evenly, followed by the cheese, and then the desired toppings.

3. Put the pizza in the over, directly on the rack. Cook for 10-12 minutes, or until the cheese is completely melted.

I liked the pizza kit dough and sauce, though Mark thought it tasted like BBQ sauce?!?!?!?! It was quick and easy, which was nice since I was feeling a little tired.

Cost:

Pizza shell and sauce ~$3.33

Cheese ~$1.00

Green pepper ~$.70

Mushrooms ~$.3o

Total ~ $5.33


Leave a Reply

