Corn Chowder with Bacon

Sunday was a lazy day for us…we must of had breakfast, but for the life of me I cannot remember what we had! I’ve been cooking breakfast almost daily, which has been a really nice change from my usual (no breakfast). It’s going to be a shame when I return to work full-time. I almost hope that I will keep up my early-to-bed habit. It’s nice to have energy to wake up early in the morning!

Anyhow, since Sunday was so lazy, I made a nice pot of soup for us to munch on throughout the day…except that we finished it pretty early into the day (being fair, we each had 2 bowls, so it was a small batch). It worked out nicely, because we were able to finish up the rest of our leftovers for dinner.

I know I may have mentioned this previously, but I cannot believe how little food is being wasted since we began this meal planning thing. Since I am planning for the week, I have ideas for cooking all week. I am making smaller portions, which are usually consumed during that meal or shortly after. I plan in days for leftovers, or if we are lacking leftovers, cooking meals based on whatever is left. Quesadillas continue to be my go-to snack these days.

Corn Chowder with Bacon

Ingredients: 

4 strips of bacon, diced

1 onion, diced

2 potatoes, diced

1 cup of chicken stock

14 oz of frozen corn

2 cups of 1/2 & 1/2

salt, to taste

1/4 teaspoon garlic powder

tabasco, to taste

pepper, to taste

Instructions:

1. In a large sauce pan, cook the bacon over medium high heat. When the bacon is nearly cooked–well-done, add the onion. Cook for 5-10 minutes more, until the onion is tender. Drain the grease.

2. Add the potato and chicken stock, cook over medium heat until the potatoes are soft.

3. Blend half the corn with 1/2 cup of the 1/2 & 1/2. Add to the sauce pan. Mix the remaining corn and 1/2 cup of 1/2 & 1/2. Add to the sauce pan. Simmer until warmed through.

4. Add the rest of the 1/2 & 1/2, as well as the spices. Simmer over low heat until thick.

Corn Chowder with Bacon

I really liked this soup. That bacon add a smokey, meaty taste, which I usually do not associate with corn chowders. I lacked patience, so it did not get very thick…but it was still yummy.

Leave a Reply

