Egg Muffins & Snap Pea Salad

I almost didn’t share lunch with my husband. The salad was THAT GOOD. However, I came to my senses and offered my husband some lunch (after eating 2 big bowls myself). Yesterday was a ridiculous food day for me. I’ve gotten to the point in my pregnancy where I am constantly hungry. I ended up eating a lot more than what I am sharing today….it took me eating from 9am until almost 3pm consistently before I was full!

Egg Muffins

Ingredients:

6 eggs

1/4 chopped red onion

1/4 chopped green pepper

4 mushrooms, chopped

1 handful of spinach, stems removed

salt, pepper, and garlic pepper to taste

1/4 cup of “pizza mix” cheese

Instructions:

1. In a mixing bowl, crack and scramble all 6 eggs.

2. Add the veggies, cheese, and spices. Mix together well.

3. Spoon into a muffin pan. Fill about 2/3 of the way full (I filled them more, and oh boy did it make a mess in the oven!).

4. Bake for 20 minutes at 350 degrees. If you plan to freeze or refrigerate these, I’d suggest cooking them a little less, to keep them from getting tough when reheated.

Egg Muffins

These were a fun treat. Not sure if they are my favorite thing even –though the husband and his friend loved them. I think the fun will be in the experimentation–mixing ingredients and cheeses. I think they’d be great for busy parents to make and freeze for quick and easy breakfasts for kids.

Cost: 

Eggs ~ $1.40

Onion ~ $.30

Green pepper ~ $.30

Mushrooms ~ $. 40

Spinach ~ $.50

Cheese ~ $.50

Total ~ $3.40

For lunch, I wanted to use some snap peas that were on the verge of being no good. I found a recipe for inspiration on allrecipes, but I modified it to fit our tastes, as well as what was in our fridge! It was so yummy. The original recipe called for mayo, and I am not a fan of mayo. I used plain yogurt instead, and I made an amazing discovery….yogurt + spices = healthy “ranch” dressing!!! It was lick-the-bowl delicious.

Snap Pea Salad

Ingredients:

5 oz snap peas

1 cup of cherry tomatoes, halved

1/2 yellow pepper, diced

1/2 cup of grated carrots

1/4 cup of diced red onion

1/3 cup of plain yogurt

1/2 teaspoon dried oregano

2 teaspoons of dried rosemary

Salt & pepper to taste

Instructions:

1. Lightly steam the snap peas, for about 2 minutes. Slice in 1/2.

2. Add all the ingredients to a serving bowl. Mix well. Refrigerate for 1 hour. Serve cold.

Snap Pea Salad

So delicious. I will definitely make this again.

Cost:

Snap peas ~ $1.00

Cherry tomatoes ~ $1.00

Yellow pepper ~ $.50

Carrots ~ $.50

Red onion ~ $.30

Plain yogurt ~ $.30

Total ~ $3.60


Leave a Reply

