Rice & Black Bean Salad and Pasta with Scallops & Sun-dried Tomatoes

Today was an enjoyable food day. I made my go-to breakfast of whole wheat toast, topped with eggs over medium, and tabasco sauce covering the whole thing. I’m going to have a spicy baby. Mark enjoyed breakfast with me, but then he had to leave for some location scouting and some camera testing for a indie feature he will be DPing. I figure he will be home later, so I just went ahead with my lunch and dinner plans. It’s funny to eat good food alone–lunch not so much, but enjoying a pasta dish with scallops seems weird to be eating in front of a Law & Order: Criminal Intent episode.

Rice & Black Bean Salad

Ingredients:

2 cups of cold, prepared rice

1 can of black beans, rinsed

1 40z can of sliced black olives

1 cup of cherry tomatoes, quartered

4 green onions, diced

1/4 cup of red wine vinegar

1/4 cup of olive oil

1 tablespoon of fresh basil

1 teaspoon of thyme

1/2 teaspoon cayenne pepper

salt, pepper, and garlic powder to taste

Salad Close-Up

Instructions:

1. Mix the rice, beans, olives, tomatoes, and green onions together.

2. Mix the remaining ingredients in a small dish. Let the dressing sit for 10 minutes. Add to the salad.

3. Refrigerate for 2-3 hours. Note: if you do not refrigerate for this time period, the dish may be oily. The rice WILL absorb the olive oil, if allowed to rest.

Lunch

I really liked this salad. It was nice and light, but filling. I had a basamati rice blend, with dried veggies and some wild rice mixed in, which I used for this salad. It worked out great. I liked the balance of the vinaigrette with the black beans. I would not have thought of mixing these two tastes.

Cost:

Rice ~ $.50

Black beans ~ $1.19

Black olives ~ $1.19

Cherry tomatoes ~ $1.00

Green onions ~ $.35

Total ~ $4.23

When cleaning out my freezer, I discovered a bag of scallops. I LOVE scallops. I cannot believe they were in there and not used. I decided to make something with the scallops. Pasta, in my opinion, was the likely choice. However, I wanted to do something light. I am pretty happen with the results…sun-dried tomatoes compliment scallops beautifully!

Pasta with Scallops and Sun-dried Tomatoes


Ingredients:

8 oz of pasta, prepared

1/4 cup of olive oil

7 tablespoons of butter

4 cloves of garlic, minced

1 lb bay scallops

4 oz 1/2 & 1/2

4 oz chicken stock

1 cup of sun-dried tomatoes

1/2 cup of parsley

zest of 1 lemon

Close-Up

Instructions:

1. Prepare pasta, as indicated by package instructions. Shock with cold water. Add the sun-dried tomatoes, parsley, and lemon zest. Mix well.

2. In a large frying pan, add the butter and olive oil. Heat until butter is melted, add the garlic. Cook until garlic is tender.

3. Add the scallops to the butter mix. Cook for about 10 minutes, or until the scallops are nearly done.

4. Remove the scallops. Add the chicken stock to the frying pan, and cook down liquid for 10 minutes.

5. Add the 1/2 & 1/2 and the scallops back to the pan. Simmer for 5-7 minutes. Do not bring to a full boil.

6. Using a slotted spoon, spoon the scallops into the pasta. Add the butter sauce as desired.

Summer Pasta

So this wasn’t the healthiest meal in the world….but it was really delicious. Plus, you can control the amount of butter sauce. I added just enough to the pasta to coat the noodles. From there, I figure individuals can add the butter sauce as desired. I added a little extra, for the baby, of course!

Cost:

Pasta ~ $1.00

Bay scallops ~ $7.00

1/2 & 1/2 ~$.50

Chicken stock ~ $.25

Sun-dried tomatoes ~ $1.99

Parsley ~ $.25

Total ~ $10.99

Not bad for a dish with seafood!


Leave a Reply

