Oatmeal & BBQ Tofu Sandwiches

It’s been a couple days since I’ve shared my meals. Wednesday ended up being all-day leftovers, since Mark was out of town. It’s going to stink once he starts working on the production full-time next week. Guess the baby and I will eat our sorrows away! I didn’t end up cooking dinner last night, I was tired after some tutoring, so we went to the world-famous Frontier Restaurant! Mark had a breakfast burrito with the in-house made salsa, and I had a half order of chicken enchiladas with green chile stew on top. Yum.

Oatmeal

Steel Cut Oatmeal with Cinnamon, Sugar, and Strawberries

I didn’t like oatmeal as a kid. Actually, I am not sure if I ever even had oatmeal as a kid, besides in the form of an oatmeal raisin cookie. So, I should say, I didn’t like oatmeal as a young adult, or even a year ago. It was because I was eating crap oatmeal–the instant stuff. Yuck. I won’t get into my food lecturing, but ask yourself, why and how is it instant? Same think with the “quick cook” oatmeal. What’s been added to the oatmeal that makes it cook quicker?

In January, I decided to really get serious about my eating (well), at least until 1st trimester food chaos hit me. Before I was pregnant, I was even dieting a bit–on my terms. I decided to give oatmeal a chance, because I knew my lack of eating breakfast was impacting my body negatively. While I was shopping for the slow cooking oat meal, I started talking to a couple, and they suggested I tried steel cut oatmeal, as opposed to the traditional kind. OMG, it changed my opinion of oatmeal. Steel cut ends up being the consistency of rice, like a brown rice in a bit of liquid. It has a little crunch and doesn’t feel like goo in your mouth.

I’m not going to write out the recipe, I followed the directions on the canister. However, I did add a little cinnamon, some raw sugar, and a couple strawberries, as well as a little 1/2 & 1/2. It was a great breakfast. It took 40 minutes to make, but I discovered this morning that it reheats nicely. Plus, I’m breakfast’s newest fan. I think I might become one of those people who wakes up at 5am to have time to savor breakfast, once I am teaching again.

BBQ Tofu Sandwiches 

I like tofu, especially when other people cook it and cook it well. I’m getting better with it, but I think my best work is with cutting it up and adding it to a stir-fry (i.e. pretty idiot proof). After reading up on some fun tofu recipes, I learned that the art of cooking tofu is not in the actual cooking process, but the preparation of the tofu itself. It takes a while! The meal turned out wonderfully…it was tasty. Next time, I will use something closer to Memphis-style BBQ (not so sweet), but I wanted to use up a bottle of Kraft stuff I had in the fridge.


BBQ Tofu Sandwich with Sweet Potato Fries

Preparing the Tofu

1. Take one block of tofu out of its packaging. Dump the water. Place 2 paper towels on top of the plate. Place the tofu on top of it. Place 2 more paper towels on top of the tofu, then another plate, and then something heavy on top of that (I used a glass 4-cup measuring cup). Let sit for 20 minutes. The paper towels will be soaked.

2. Slice the tofu long-ways at about 1/4 inch thick. Cut those pieces diagonally, making triangles. Place the triangles on a plate. Place in the freezer. Freeze for 45-60 minutes, which will make the tofu firm on the outside.

Ingredients:

Prepared tofu

1 onion, sliced thinly

1.5-2 cups of BBQ sauce

Sandwich fixings (buns, cheese, etc.)

Instructions: 

1. Add a couple tablespoons of olive oil to a frying pan. Add the tofu, cooking each side until golden brown.

2. In a separate frying pan, saute the onions until they are soft.

3. Add the onions and BBQ sauce to the tofu, simmer over low heat for 10 minutes.

4. Prepare as desired and enjoy!

In Yo Face!

I wasn’t sure how preparing the tofu this way would impact the meal, but it made quite a difference! The tofu wasn’t squishy in the middle, as it normally is when cooked. It was somewhat meat-like in texture, making for a good sandwich.

Cost:

Tofu $1.99

Onion ~ $.50

BBQ Sauce FREE (a coupon score!)

Buns ~ $1.25

Total ~ $3.75

Note: this recipe made about 4 sandwiches.

Leave a Reply

