Curry Burgers & Strawberry Cake

Our Sunday started off lazily. Mark slept in, and we went and got a late breakfast (brunch?) at our local greasy-spoon. I practically licked my plate, while Mark daintily ate his huevos rancheros.  We’ve totally freak-friday-ed our eating habits. Somehow, the time from after breakfast until almost dinner dissipated–so we managed to miss a regular lunch. For dinner, I wanted to make an adaptation of a veggie burger recipe that I found online.

I’ve never had a veggie burger. It’s never looked appetizing to me  I think part of it is not knowing the ingredients…what makes up the veggie burger. This recipe is mostly black beans, rice, and bread crumbs, with some other special guests. It turned out pretty good. I am not sure if it will end up on our regular rotation, but it was worth trying.

Curry Burger

Ingredients:

1 cup of diced onions

3 garlic cloves diced

1/2 jalapeno pepper diced

1 cup of cooked white rice

1 cup of black beans, rinsed

1 cup of bread crumbs

1 egg

3 tablespoons of curry powder

salt and pepper to taste

Hamburger Buns

Instructions:

1. With a little olive oil, cook the onions and garlic until soft. Add the jalapenos and fry for a couple minutes more.

2. Add the onion mixture, black beans, rice, and bread crumbs to a mixing bowl. Using your hands (to squish the beans), mix together.

3. Add the seasonings and the egg, continue mixing.

4. Form into patties (this should make 4 large or 6 small patties) and place on a plate. Refrigerate for 30 minutes.

5. Add a little olive oil to the same frying pan used previously, and fry the patties for about 5 minutes on each side, over medium high heat.

6. Serve on a bun with your favorite toppings and condiments.

I added tomato and plain yogurt to my burger, which really gave it that Indian feel (curry, rice, tomatoes, and yogurt…black beans, not so much). Meanwhile, Mark added mayo, dijon mustard, tomatoes, and spinach. All and all, it was pretty good. I would suggest making the patties smaller. I made 4 large, and it was a pretty hearty burger. Buster was dripping drool just looking at them!

Burger Close-Up

Cost:

Onion ~$.70

jalapeno ~ $.15

Rice ~ $.30

Black Beans ~ $1.19

Bread Crumbs ~ $1.00

Egg ~$.20

Buns ~ $.80

Total ~ $4.34

Strawberries

I was reading a food blog recently, and the writer was raving about a recipe for a Strawberry Summer Cake. Reading the post made me want to make it immediately. When I went to the store yesterday, I picked up a bunch of organic strawberries. I followed the blogger’s recipe pretty true to the directions, except I used whole wheat flour and raw sugar, but it didn’t turn out as beautiful as her cake. I was perplexed most of the evening. In the middle of the night, I had the urge to sit up in bed and yell, “Ah ha!” because I figured out the difference. My cake was lacking the gooey-jelly like consistency of the berries that the blogger bragged about….she also explained that she used strawberries that were on their way out the door (freshness wise). My berries were fresh off the shelf. It’s the one time I should have been looking for berries that were not quite as fresh. It was still tasty–fresh out of the oven and for breakfast this morning.

Summer Strawberries

Fresh Out of the Oven!

Word to the wise, use an extra deep pie pan! I did not, and I was scrambling to put a cookie sheet under this. I have blackened cake and berries in the bottom of my oven right now.

Cost:

Butter ~ $1.oo
Flour ~ $.30
Sugar ~ $.40
Egg ~ $.20
Milk ~ $.50
Strawberries ~ $2.99

Total ~ $5.39

Looking forward to our bacon burger sliders today….

Leave a Reply

