Spinach Salad with Garlic-y Dijon Vinaigrette

We aren’t doing anything special for Memorial Day–no parties, I guess I could argue that every day is special! I knew I wanted to make some yummy sliders for dinner tonight, so I thought I’d balance things with a healthy spinach salad. Plus, I wanted to experiment with salad dressing. My husband, of all people, piqued my interest when he told me about his home concoction.

Spinach Salad with Garlic-y Dijon Vinaigrette

Spinach Salad with Dressing

Salad Ingredients:

It’s a salad, so it doesn’t have to be anything in particular. However, my salad consists of the following:

1/2 bag of organic baby spinach

3 organic roma tomatoes

1/2 organic green bell pepper

1/2 organic red bell pepper

1/2 organic yellow onion

handful of organic baby carrots

Salad Instructions:

1. Cut and mix!

Salad Dressing Ingredients

Salad Dressing Ingredients:

3 or 4 cloves of garlic, minced

juice of 1 lemon

1/2 cup of olive oil

2 tablespoons of balsamic vinegar

2 tablespoons of dijon mustard

salt & pepper, to taste

 

Salad Dressing Instructions:

1. Mince the garlic cloves

Make sure to mince them and mince them well. Ours were a little big, and it was a spicy kick in the pants when eating! Not that I minded, Baby Sewards and I are loving spice these days.

2. Juice 1 whole lemon

In a bowl, juice 1 whole lemon. I use this hand juicer that I found at a 2nd hand shop. It keeps seeds and pulp from getting mixed with everything, which is handy.

3. Add the olive oil

Add the 1/2 cup of olive oil to the bowl with the lemon juice. Mix well, or as well as you are able to mix the oil and juice. It will come together better when we add the mustard.

4. Add the balsamic vinegar

This is where I was experimenting. I usually go for a white wine vinegar, rice wine vinegar, or red wine vinegar when making a dijon dressing. However, my clever husband swears by balsamic vinegar with dijon mustard. I never imagined the two flavors blending!

Anyhow, add 2 tablespoons (ish, I don’t measure usually) to the olive oil mixture. Stir…but you’ll still see lots of separation.

5. Add the dijon mustard

I said 2 tablespoons for the mustard, but I added a little more. We like the spice. It does have kick, so if you are not a spicy-lover, add a little less. Mix well. It should become a thicker vinaigrette at this point. If it’s too thick, add a little olive oil or lemon juice.

6. Add the garlic and mix again

 

7. Add salt and pepper, to taste

My husband was so right!! I love the balsamic and dijon mix! What a great dressing. We added it to a pretty plain salad, and it jazzed right up. As I was eating it, I said to Mark that it would be a kick ass dressing for a salad nicoise (you know, with the boiled potatoes and tuna).

This recipe made enough for each of us to have two big bowls of salad, plus about a quarter of it left over. I usually just stick the dressing in a canning jar, and we gobble it up pretty quickly.

Dressing Storage

It was a yummy summer lunch. The only thing that would make it better is if we had some fresh squeezed juice to go along with it (a problem that should solve itself in the next couple days, depending on the UPS man!).

Summer Lunch

Cost:

Spinach ~ $1.00

Tomatoes ~$1.00

Red Bell Pepper ~ $.60

Green Bell Pepper ~ $.40

Onion ~ $.40

Carrots ~ $.30

Garlic ~ $.20

Lemon ~ $.30

OO, vinegar, mustard ~ $.50

Total ~ $4.70

Leave a Reply

