Bacon Wrapped Sliders

Thank goodness I am rereading In Defense of Food by Michael Pollen. After last night’s meat-filled meal, I needed some reassurance that I was still doing good by my body. Anyone who hasn’t read it, I highly suggest it. Essentially, he contends that food needs to be viewed as its whole, not as individual nutrients, since we do not know the impact that various nutrients have when working together. It’s a pretty interesting read, even if you don’t completely buy into it. I do though–hook, line, and sinker. It’s butter for me over butter substitutes any day. Anyhow, Pollen talks about how there was a push to take fats out of our diet, but that push hasn’t really improved anything. Naturally occurring fats are good, in moderation of course. I am oversimplifying this in a confusing way, I fear. Eat naturally occurring, unmodified foods–mostly plants–in moderation. Whoops, I just took Pollen’s catch-line, “Eat real food. Not too much. Mostly plants.

Dinner was not a “mostly plants” meal.

Bacon Burger Sliders with Balsamic Onions

 

After being suggested by a couple different people, I went and checked out The Pioneer Woman blog. It’s a pretty interesting site, especially the cooking portion of it. It’s pretty heavy food, but when I was checking it out I was craving burgers…and my pregnancy love of bacon, coupled with finding some awesome nitrate-free bacon led me to making these bacon sliders. I followed her recipe pretty close, except I cut it in half and I used soy sauce instead of worshishire (sp?), since I didn’t have any. I decided to add the jalapeno to the mix, as she suggests, but I used fresh as opposed to canned or jarred. Fresh jalapenos made it super hot!

Fixings for a Meaty Meal!

I wanted to add a bit of a kick, flavor wise, to the dish, so I took half an onion and I sauteed it with butter until soft. Then I added enough balsamic vinegar to cover the onions and let it cook down. Not quite caramelized, but yummy with all that meat! Trader Joe’s had slider-sized hamburger buns, which worked out great, except the burgers were too fat and we had trouble fitting the whole height into our mouths!

Oven Ready

They were good, a little heavy, but good for a special treat. Mark especially enjoyed them. When he came in for dinner, he said, “Wow, you are cooking midwest style!”

I said, “Actually, Texas cowgirl, but whatever.”

When we woke up this morning, I suggested making breakfast and warming up the leftovers to add to our usual breakfast. Mark smirked and said, “Unnecessary, they are already in my belly. Late night snack.” Love that man.

Ariel View

 

Cost:

Hamburger $2.49

Bacon $3.99

Buns $1.19

Jalapeno ~ $.15

Onion ~$.40

Total: ~ $8.22

More expensive than usual, but it was a holiday.

Leave a Reply

