Raspberry Muffins & Tomato and Goat Cheese Pie

So I didn’t end up cooking 3 meals. I actually ate 4 meals, but one was leftover Mexican Peppers (still yummy) and the other was some spinach and ricotta ravioli I pulled from the freezer. Old me would probably ignore the leftovers and make something totally new. The new trying-to-be-less-wasteful and frugal me decided leftovers was the better decision.

I got Michael Pollan’s most recent book yesterday, Food Rules: An Eater’s Manual. It’s simply a collection of 64 “rules” to follow when eating. It comes directly from his previous book, In Defense of Food, but made to be more user-friendly. It’s a super quick read, maybe an hour, and gives great tips for ensuring that you eat real food.

Yesterday I made raspberry muffins for breakfast. As I was pulling the first batch from the muffin pan, I realized that I never added any sugar to the recipe. I was concerned that I messed it up. However, I looked at it again, and realized that there was no sugar in the recipe! Honey, but no sugar. Whew. Both the muffins and the tomato and goat cheese pie are from the cookbook Simply in Season, which I believe I’ve mentioned before.

Raspberry Muffins

Raspberry Muffins

 

Ingredients:

1.5 cups of whole wheat flour

1 cup of rolled oats

1 tablespoon of baking powder

1/2 teaspoon of salt

1 teaspoon of ground cinnamon

1 egg

1 cup of milk

1/4 cup of oil

1/4 cup of honey

1.5 cups of raspberries

 

Instructions:

1. Combine the flour, oats, baking powder, salt, and cinnamon in a bowl.

2. In a second bowl, combine the egg, milk, oil, and honey and mix well. I struggled with getting the honey to mix. Let me know if you have more luck with it!

3. Add the wet ingredients to the dry ingredients and stir until moistened.

4. Fold in the berries.

5. Fill a well-greased muffin tin 2/3 full in each cup.

6. Bake in a preheated over at 400 degrees for about 15-20 minutes.

Breakfast Muffins!

Cost:

In case you haven’t noticed, I do not include some of the basic pantry items in the cost (flour, oil, etc.)

Egg ~ $.20

Milk (I used 1/2 & 1/2) ~ $.70

Raspberries ~ $1.25

Total: ~ $2.15 (plus the cost of flour and whatnot….)

 

Tomato and Goat Cheese Pie

Tomato and Goat Cheese Pie

 

I struggled with this dish a bit…well, the dough at least. I had trouble getting it moist enough. Dough is definitely not my forte.

Ingredients:

1.5 cups of whole wheat flour

7 tablespoons of butter

1/3 cup of shredded cheese

3-4 tablespoons of water

1/2 teaspoon of salt

1 egg yolk

3 tablespoons of bread crumbs

1 lb of roma tomatoes

5 oz of goat cheese

Olive oil, to garnish

Tomato and Goat Cheese Pie

Instructions:

1. Cut together the flour and butter until crumbly. Add the cheese, water, and salt. Add more water if necessary to make a ball. Turn on a floured surface. Cover ball with plastic wrap and refrigerate for 30 minutes. Roll out into a 15 inch circle and place on a greased cookie sheet.

2. Brush most of the yolk onto the dough. Spread on the bread crumbs, and then place a layer of tomatoes on the dough. Be sure to leave an inch or so edge to turn up later.

3. Add chunks of goat cheese on top of the tomatoes. Add more tomatoes on top, and then a final layer of goat cheese.

4. Turn up the corners of the dough, creating a crust-like thing. Spread with the remaining yolk.

5. Bake in a preheated oven at 350 degrees for about 30 minutes.

6. Garnish with olive oil after pulling from the oven.

Finished Product

 

We ended up liking this pie quite a bit. It combined two of our favorite foods–tomatoes and goat cheese. I may just cheat next time I made this and buy a premade pie crust!

Cost:

Cheese ~$.30

Egg ~$.20

1 lb of roma tomatoes $2.49

Goat cheese $2.49

Total: ~ $5.48

One response

Leave a Reply

