Arugula Pesto

We had a simple lunch today, grilled cheese sandwiches and a salad made with arugula. I noticed that the arugula only had a couple days left before it went south. After previously reading about a blogger making a pesto out of peas (I have to try that soon!), arugula pesto sounded like a perfect option.

Arugula Pesto Pasta

I only discovered the deliciousness that is arugula recently. It’s sharp flavor really adds to a salad. I researched some arugula pesto recipes online, and I noticed that the great majority of them used some spinach or basil within the recipe. I am assuming it’s to cut the bite of the arugula a bit. I didn’t have any spinach or basil handy, so I decided to go ahead without. As a result, I added some extra veggies to my eventual pasta dish to try to balance the flavors.

Ingredients:

6 garlic cloves with skins on

1/4 cup of pistachios

2 cups of arugula, packed

1/2 teaspoon of salt

1/2 cup of olive oil

2 cups of pasta

1/2 onion diced

1 cup of peas

1 cup of mushrooms, sliced

Instructions:

1. In a frying pan, brown the garlic over medium high heat. Flip after about 5 minutes, allowing both sides to brown. Remove garlic from heat, allowing to cool. Remove the skin and cut into small chunks.

2. Add the arugula, pistachios, garlic, and salt to a blender or food processor. Slowly add the olive oil over medium-high setting. Allow a few moments to blend thoroughly. Scoop the pesto out of the blender. Set aside.

Blending arugula

3. Meanwhile, prepare the noodles as suggested on the package. When straining, run cold water over the noodles to prevent overcooking.

4. With a little olive oil, cook the onion over medium high heat, until translucent. Add the mushrooms and peas, cooking for a few minutes.

5. In a serving dish, mix the noodles and pesto well. Add the veggies and mix. Serve immediately.

Mixed Pesto

I think this dish turned out to be pretty good. I used brown rice pasta, which I think was a good move on my part. It’s a bit heavier than white pasta. I’m not really a fan of whole wheat pasta, it has a funny taste to me, but in the case of this pesto, I think it would work even better than the brown rice pasta. This pesto can compete with a heavier noodle.

Cost:

Arugula ~$1.00

Pasta ~ $.75

Onion ~ $.30

Peas ~ $.50

Mushrooms $.50

Total ~ $3.05

Leave a Reply

