Hola, Guacamole

So I am not completely cheesy, just mostly so–hence my use of “hola” instead of “holy.”

Guacamole

Guacamole is one of my favorite foods. I think it’s yummy as a dip, it’s yummy as a condiment, and it’s yummy when you open the fridge and stick your finger in the bowl. It’s actually incredibly easy to make. I used to make it with onions and something was always off…then I discovered that shallots were the key! A little less biting than onions, shallots perfect the guacamole.

Guacamole ingredients

Ingredients:

2 shallots

2 garlic cloves

2 avocados

1 jalapeno

1 large roma tomato

1 lime

salt to taste

Shallots and garlic

Step 1: Finely dice up the shallots and garlic. Place them in a bowl big enough to hold about 2 cups of food.

Avocados

Step 2: Cut the avocados in half. Remove the seed and the skin of the avocado. Cut the avocado into medium sized chunks. Add to the shallots and garlic. Smash with a fork and mix well.

Jalapeno

Step 3: Dice the jalapeno. Add to the bowl and mix.

Tomatoes

Step 4: Dice the tomato and add it to the bowl. Mix well.

Step 5: Squeeze the juice of one lime into the bowl. Add a little salt. Mix well. Taste and adjust seasoning as needed.

Guacamole

Guacamole is typically pretty pricy when you go out to eat, which strikes me as funny, because it’s not terribly expensive to make at home. And it is incredibly easy to make! This is a pretty traditional version, but I’ve modified, adding green peppers or green chile or anything else that might sound good mixed with smashed avocado. I wouldn’t let it sit in the fridge too long, but that’s never a problem at my house.

One response

  1. Yum! I agree. We get our veggies from farmer’s markets or the local produce store. However, we have been make ours without the tomatoes because I am trying to eat for my blood type, and tomatoes are on the “no” list.

Leave a Reply

