Black Beans & Brown Rice Salad

Getting back on this horse is a little more difficult than I anticipated. However, in my defense, we were in the middle of moving…with an infant…30 minutes away. It sucked, but now it’s over. Mark, my father-in-law, and my brother-in-law did the majority of the work. They are awesome. Now we are settled into our new place, with its 360 degree view of the Sandia mountains. I hear roosters in the morning and coyotes at night (the first happened in the city, the second is new).

Mark, in an effort to help me regain my sanity, unpacked and mostly organized the kitchen. The new kitchen is large, which is great. But there’s not much as far as counter space, which stinks. Mark is going to build me a rolling counter space with drawers. He’s so handy. I have a beautiful view of the mountains for when I am doing dishes. Unfortunately, our sink basin is very shallow, so we are doing dishes a ton. Boo dishes!

Anyhow, it’s Sunday evening after a long, exhausting move. I decided to whip something up for lunch tomorrow (note: I made an awesome pork roast in the crock pot, which consisted of adding a little bit of everything in the kitchen–sugar, worschtershire sauce, soy sauce, various seasonings, and Dijon mustard. It was awesome sauce.). Lately, I’ve been digging black beans, and brown rice, and frozen corn, so I decided to combine those to make a yummy lunch.

Ingredients:

1 cup of brown rice, prepared

1 can of black beans, rinsed

1 cup of frozen corn kernels, thawed

1 tomato medium, diced

4 green onions, diced

2 limes, juiced

salt and pepper, to taste.

Preparation:

1. Mix all the ingredients together.

2. For optimum tastiness, refrigerate over night to allow the lime juice to soak into the salad. Also, I happen to love ice cold black beans.

I love this salad. I’ve been making different versions of this salad for a while now. I think this is just about perfect. The sweet corn kernels and the green onion were the last couple ingredients needed to make it perfect. It’s filling and so quick to make.

 

 

2 responses

Leave a Reply

