Chicken Basil Sausage Soup

I’m home with the baby today, we had a rough night. One of the challenges of being a new parent, especially being a new working parent is to find the time to make a good meal. There just seem to not be enough hours in the day. Being home with Nico today, I wanted to make sure to have something on hand to eat for lunch and dinner. It snowed last night and this morning where we live in the mountains, so I decided to make some soup.

My favorite grocery store, Sunflower Market, has an amazing selection of meats and seafood, included hand stuffed sausages. The said sausages go on sale pretty regularly, and I am always sure to stock up. I decided to do something with some chicken basil sausages that I hand in the freezer. I missed going to the grocery store this week, so the fresh produce was pretty minimal. However, I had some onions and carrots to throw into the soup. Also, a new favorite soup add-in has been pasta. I became a big fan of rice in soups over the winter, and the years before that it was the potato. However, it was pretty recently I discovered that noodles add to a soup wonderfully (I know, duh.).

Ingredients:

1. 1 lb of chicken basil sausage

2. 1 box of chicken broth

3. 1 onion diced

4. 1 cup of sliced carrots

5. 3 teaspoons of basil

6. Salt & pepper to taste

7. 8 cups of water

8. 1 cup of macaroni noodles

*Note: I didn’t measure anything here (getting back into the blogging habit). Above are all estimates.

Preparation:

1. Add all the ingredients into a soup pot. Cook over medium high heat until boiling. Stir and reduce heat to low. Stir regularly.

2. After 15 minutes, remove the sausage and slice. Add back to the soup and simmer for 5 minutes more, allowing flavors to blend.

I really liked this soup because it was hearty and quick. I sometimes miss laboring over the stove make a soup, a roast, or something else that is equally delicious. However, quick and easy equals more baby time, which is my current priority. I am just happy that I can make something delicious with wholesome ingredients, without spending my whole day cooking.

Leave a Reply

