Red Cabbage with Chickpeas in a Dijon Mustard Vinaigrette

As I mentioned previously, one of my goals was to have more foods around the house that are healthy and are easy to take to work for lunch. Last week, I purchased a beautiful head of red cabbage–it was calling my name. If I had to choose, I prefer vegetables in their raw form (as opposed to cooked), and this is especially true with cabbage. Not a fan of cooked cabbage at all. I wasn’t quite sure what to do with the cabbage. A salad was preferable, but I didn’t want to cover it with a heavy dressing. I looked in my make-shift pantry and found some organic chickpeas. I started chopping the cabbage and decided to see where the salad went….I am pretty proud of the result.

Ingredients:

1/2 head of red cabbage, thinly sliced

1 can of chickpeas, drained and rinsed

1 tomato, diced

1 red pepper, chopped

Preparation:

1. Mix the ingredients above.

Obviously, I needed something to pull this salad together–a dressing. We are big fans of making our own dressings, and our personal favorite is a dijon vinaigrette. I thought the punch of a good dijon dressing would really liven up the salad. We like a strong dijon flavor with our dressing, so we use a lot of dijon in this dressing. Feel free to reduce the amount. I’d start with a teaspoon at a time and add until you are satisfied.

Vinaigrette:

1. 3/4 cup of rice vinegar

2. 1/4 cup of olive oil

3. 4 teaspoons of dijon mustard

4. salt & pepper to taste

5. 2 teaspoons of cilantro (I used the frozen cubes), fresh stuff is preferable

Preparation:

1. Blend the olive oil and vinegar together

2. Add the dijon mustard, little by little, blending with each tablespoon added.

3. Add spices to your taste.

4. Mix the dressing into the salad.

I tried a bowl right away, and it was good, but not quite right. However, after letting the salad sit in the fridge overnight really made the salad pop. The flavors blended perfectly. This salad definitely took me out of my comfort zone, I am pretty traditional in my combination of foods, with chickpeas feeling very Mediterranean to me and cabbage much more Western European (I am not sure if these associations are accurate at all).

The salad was a perfect lunch, as well as a side dish for a simple meal.

Leave a Reply

