Arugula Salad with Basil Dijon Vinaigrette

Yesterday Mark and I were busy with unpacking our remaining boxes and entertaining Nico. I hate packing and unpacking. Thankfully our next (and hopefully last) move is only across the family property. After a couple hours of packing and organizing, I knew we needed some reinforcements, in the form of food. After a heavy dinner the previous night (the seared scallops) and a planned heavy dinner later that evening (you’ll see that post in a couple days–seared chicken thighs), I wanted something light. I picked up a beautiful bunch of arugula at the grocery store, so I decided to make a salad with that.

Ingredients:

1 bunch of arugula–washed and torn from stems

4 hard boiled eggs sliced

15 grape tomatoes, quartered

1/4 red onion, finely diced

1 cup of egg noodles, prepared

2 cans of tuna, drained and flaked

Dressing:

1/3 cup of olive oil

1/3 cup of apple cider vinegar

1/3 cup of rice vinegar

4 teaspoons of basil (I used the little basil frozen cubes)

2 tablespoons of dijon mustard

salt and pepper, to taste

 

Preparation:

1. Take the prepared noodles and the washed arugula and mix into a large serving dish. Add the tomatoes, onions, and tuna. Mix well.

2. Place sliced hard boiled eggs in pattern desired.

3. In a mason jar, mix the olive oil, both vinegars, the basil, and the mustard together. Stir vigorously, until the mustard and basil are thoroughly mixed into the dressing. Salt and pepper to desired taste.

I’ve made similar salads previously, but I wanted to try something different with the dressing. We love our dijon vinaigrette, so I wanted to mix it up a little. The softer taste of the rice vinegar toned down the apple cider vinegar, but still left the unique taste that the apple cider vinegar provides. Adding the noodles to the salad was something new. I thought it would make the meal a little more filling. It’s kind of my take on a traditional Salad Nicoise. We both loved the salad, and I want to continue to play with the use of herbs (especially fresh ones coming soon) in our dressings.

Leave a Reply

