Pan Seared Chicken Thighs with Mushrooms, Arugula, & Quinoa

I am on a searing kick. The first time I tried it, this past Friday, it was pretty successful, so I wanted to try it again–just to make sure it wasn’t dumb luck. Mark would have loved to have another meal of seared scallops (who am I kidding, I would have as well), but he had to settle for chicken.

When it comes to chicken, I recently fell in love with chicken thighs. First with soups, I discovered that thighs make for great flavor, and I wanted see if I could use chicken thighs as a center piece of a meal. I googled around for some recipes, and this meal is a modification of one I found here. I followed the recipe pretty close, with the exception of several modifications. I’ll list my recipe below.

Ingredients:

1 cup of quinoa, prepared as directed

4 chicken thighs, bone in and with skin attached

8oz of mushrooms, sliced

1/2 of a large onion, diced

4 tablespoons of butter

2 tablespoons of olive oil

8 oz balsamic vinegar

4 cloves of garlic, minced

2 cups of chicken stock

1 bunch of arugula

 

Preparation:

1. Preheat the oven to 400 degrees.

2. On the stovetop, melt 2 tablespoons of butter and 2 tablespoons of olive oil in a large frying pan over medium-high heat. Once the mixture is smoking slightly, carefully place the thighs, skin down in the frying pan. Cook until the skin is a golden to dark brown, about 5-7 minutes, and then flip and cook for 3-4 minutes. Remove the chicken from the pan and set aside.

3. Add the mushrooms and onion to the frying pan with the remaining butter. Stir regularly, pull the leftover bits from the chicken from the sides of the pans.

4. Add the balsamic vinegar to the pan, cook and reduce by half. Add the garlic and blend.

5. Add the chicken stock and stir. The stock should be about 1/2 way covering the chicken.

6. Put the chicken back into the pan with the crispy chicken side up. Bring the mix to a simmer.

7. Put the frying pan into the over and allow it to bake for 45 minutes.

8. Remove the pan from the oven and pull the chicken from the pan. Over medium heat, heat the remaining goods in the frying pan. Add the arugula and allow it to wilt.

9. Serve the chicken on a bed of quinoa with the mushroom & arugula sauce over the chicken.

 

This was so delicious! I really liked making this meal. It was pretty impressive looking, and it was a one-pan dish! I think searing is my new favorite cooking technique.

 

Leave a Reply

