Teriyaki Chicken with Rice Noodles and Fresh Snap Peas

After making the seared chicken thighs, I had some extra thighs leftover that I wanted to do something with. It was a pretty warm weekend, so soup wasn’t what I was looking for. As I looked for motivation in my fridge, I noticed the snap peas that I picked up at the grocery store a couple days before. Those definitely needed to be incorporated into the meal. In my pantry I found some thick rice noodles (think pho). There. Meal planned. I decided to try my hand at making my own teriyaki sauce. Really had no idea what I was doing, but I assumed it involved soy sauce.

Ingredients:

2 large chicken thighs

1 package of rice noodles, prepared as directed

1 lb of snap peas

1/2 cup of soy sauce

1/4 cup of cider vinegar

2 tablespoons of brown sugar

1 clove of garlic, minced

salt and pepper, to taste

Preparation:

1. In a sauce pan, mix the soy sauce, cider vinegar, sugar, garlic, and salt and pepper. Heat over medium high heat. Bring to a rolling boil, allowing the mixture to cook down a bit.

2. Place the chicken breasts in a pyrex dish. Pour the teriyaki mixture over the chicken. Baste a bit, and put it into an over heated to 425 degrees.

3. Cook for 45 minutes, or until the juices run clear. Baste the teriyaki mixture over the chicken regularly through the cooking process.

4. While the chicken is baking, be sure to prepare the rice noodles. Also, lightly steam the snap peas and toss with kosher salt.

5. Serve the chicken on a bed of rice noodles, and a bit of teriyaki over the top. Serve the snap peas on the side.

My teriyaki was pretty…loose, both in consistency and interpretation. It lacked the thickness that you expect with teriyaki sauce. It was pretty tasty though. I think it was a good way to use up the last bit of chicken on the fly. I think the real winner was the snap peas. I steamed them to the point where they just barely changed temperature, and I think that the heat released the yummy flavors. Plus, the barely steaming method kept the crunch of the snap peas. Paired with kosher salt, it was a great side dish, or even a healthy snack.

Leave a Reply

