Shrimp Curry

I had some leftover shrimp from a meal I am not going to post about (My taste-tester said it was a fail), and I was trying to figure out a meal that I could make to stretch a small amount of shrimp. I was tempted to just peel, steam, and eat, but what fun would that be for the blog? I’m big into Asian food, so I decided to go for a curry dish. After digging in about 10 different boxes, I finally found all the spices that I needed, and I set to work.

Ingredients:

1/2 lb of shrimp, peeled

1 can of coconut milk

2 tomatoes diced

1 cup of carrots, matchstick cut

8oz mushrooms, sliced

2 bay leaves

1 teaspoon of cinnamon

2 teaspoons of basil

juice of 1 lime

1/2 onion, diced

4 cloves of garlic, minced

1 tsp of cayenne pepper

2 tablespoons of fish sauce

2 teaspoons of red pepper flakes

1/2 teaspoon of cumin

1/2 teaspoon of coriander

1 tablespoon of curry powder

1 tablespoon of raw sugar

Preparation:

1. In dutch oven or stock pot, cook the onions and garlic in a little bit of olive oil until soft and flavors release. Add all the other ingredients, with the exception of the shrimp.

2. Over medium-high heat, bring the curry to a slow boil. Add the shrimp to the curry.

3. Reduce the heat and simmer over low heat for 45 minutes, or until thickened. Stir regularly.

4. Serve over brown rice.

This curry turned out to be pretty good, although it wasn’t what I envisioned. When I thought about curry with the shrimp, I envisioned a red curry. However, I did not have the necessary ingredients to make the red curry. I also struggled with getting it to the “right” thickness. I wanted it to be thicker than it ended up, but once it was over rice it seemed just about right.

One thing I like about curries is that they are pretty forgiving. I didn’t have a lot of shrimp to work with, but it still turned into a filling meal. To kick up the veggie impact, I added carrots and mushrooms. I don’t think either are traditional curry ingredients…but it tasted pretty good!

Leave a Reply

