Roasted Root Veggies

I love beets (see the header of the blog). I only discovered them about 2 years ago. But since then, I’ve eaten them like crazy, mostly in salads. I wanted to try something different with the beets, so I decided that I wanted to roast them today. Peeking around in the fridge, I noticed a sweet potato left over from when I made Nico’s pureed sweet potatoes. He hated them, so I just had this lone sweet potato hanging around. From there, the meal was born. I pulled out the other root veggies from around my kitchen–carrots, onions, and potatoes. Hearty chunks of root veggies with a savory and sweet glaze was what I was trying to achieve.

A bowl of bliss

Ingredients:

2 beets, cubed

1 sweet potato, cubed

1/2 onion, chopped

4 red potatoes (the small ones), cubed

10 baby carrots, chunked

kosher salt

honey

1/3 cup balsamic vinegar

Ready for the Oven

Preparation:

1. Preheat the oven to 400 degrees.

2. In a glass casserole dish, mix the beets, sweet potato, potatoes, onion, and carrots. Sprinkle 2 tablespoons of kosher salt over the top of the mixture and drizzle with honey.

3. Place in the oven and bake for 30 minutes. After 30 minutes, stir the veggies and add 1/3 a cup of balsamic vinegar.

4. Bake for 15-30 minutes more, until all the veggies are soft and the vinegar has cooked down.

Oh my goodness, this dish was A-MAZING, which explains why I ate the entire casserole dish in one evening. There’s something about the combination of salt, honey, and balsamic vinegar that makes for a perfect roasted veggie dish. It sounds like a disgusting combination, but it’s not.

Leave a Reply

