Roasted Mushrooms

While Nico was napping Sunday afternoon, I did what every modern day domestic goddess does–I was pinning yummy foods and convenient household tips to my Pinterest boards. Technically, I have 10 boards or so, but I only pin to my food board, baby board, and occasionally the household items board. Anyhow, I re-pinned a recipe for roasted mushrooms. I figured it would come in handy in the future. However, once I pinned the recipe, I could not get it out of my mind. I visited the original website to check out the whole recipe–had all the ingredients at hand. Then I began thinking about some modification I wanted to make–had my altered recipe in mind. Finally, I couldn’t take it any more. I HAD to make them. I didn’t have a meal in mind. In fact, I am a bit ashamed to say that I scooped the roasted mushrooms into a bowl and ate them as a full meal. It was delicious. I rescind my apology.

The original recipe is here, I just tweaked the spices a bit to my taste.

Roasted Mushrooms

Ingredients:

4 oz of white mushrooms, sliced into thirds

4 oz of baby portabella mushrooms, sliced into thirds

1/3 red onion, diced

1/2 cup of olive oil

2 tablespoons of basil

salt and pepper, to taste

balsamic vinegar

Preparation:

1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.

2. In a square pyrex dish, spread out the mushrooms and onion.

3. Mix the olive oil, basil, and salt & pepper together, and pour over the mushrooms. Make sure the olive oil coats each of the mushrooms. Use more olive oil, if necessary.

4.Roast in the oven for 30-40 minutes, mixing the mushrooms once during that time.

5. Drizzle the balsamic vinegar over the mushrooms.

I decided to use basil as opposed to the suggested herbs, mostly because I didn’t have any fresh herbs handy, but I did have some of those frozen basil cubes. The mushrooms were so juicy and fulfilling. I was sort of worried that the mushrooms would be cooked away to nothing, but they maintained their shape and flavor. I will definitely keep this dish in mind for the future.

Leave a Reply

