Quick Snacks: Popcorn with Nutritional Yeast

Now that we live in the mountains, having snacks on hand is an absolute must. I can no longer jump in the car and grab some treats. The closest store is 10 minutes away, and the hours are pretty conservative. Therefore, snacks are important to have around the house.

When I was in graduate school, my old housemate showed me how to make popcorn in a pot on the stovetop. It’s one of the most valuable skills I have ever acquired. Air popped pop corn is so much better than the microwaved stuff.

Seemingly off topic, but I promise it is related, I breastfeed my son. Like many nursing, and especially working and nursing mothers, I worry about the amount of milk I am producing. Nutritional yeast is supposed to help increase milk production. I originally bought some for a cookie recipe for nursing mothers, but I recalled the same housemate referenced above used it as a popcorn topping. Yum. Nutritional yeast tastes like cheese. And this woman cannot have cheese at this time, so things I can eat that taste like cheese makes me happy. And, like the name suggests, nutritional yeast is full of nutrients.

Ingredients:

Popcorn kernels

Olive Oil

Nutritional yeast

Salt

Butter (if desired)

Preparation:

1. In a large sauce pot, add enough olive oil to lightly coat the bottom of the pan. Add the popcorn seeds (enough to cover the bottom of the pan), and cover with the lid.

2. Over medium high heat, heat the oil and pop corn, vigorously shaking the pot every couple minutes.

3. Once the corn begins to pop, continue shaking the pot. When the pot fills, carefully dump the popped corn into a large bowl. Replace the pot back on the burner quickly.

4. Once all the pop corn is popped, add the nutritional yeast and other desired toppings.

Health isn’t my primary concern when eating popcorn, so I load on the butter–fresh melted butter. In usually add the butter to the pot I used to pop the corn (typically it is hot enough to melt the butter without the flame). I drizzle the butter over the popcorn, then toss with nutritional yeast, and then sprinkle with kosher salt. YUMMY.

One response

Leave a Reply

