Crock Potin’–Santa Fe Chicken

My friends rave about the Santa Fe chicken  from Skinny Taste. Mondays and Tuesdays are the hardest days for me, because Mark stays overnight for work on Monday evenings. That means I am alone caring for Nico. A lot of nights, I forget to eat and end up having pop corn for dinner. In order to get myself a hot meal on my busy early week evenings, I decided to start constructing a crockpot meal on Sunday evenings. That way, I can turn it on Monday morning before work, and have a hot meal waiting for me on Mondays (and leftovers on Tuesdays). I figured the Santa Fe chicken was a good place to start, since so many of my friends rave about it.

Santa Fe Crockpot Chicken Over Rice

I followed the recipe pretty close to the Skinny Taste version with a couple modifications—

First off, I used chicken legs. It was what I had on hand, so I used them. I am not sure off the top of my head if legs are any worse than breasts, but I am not cooking the meal for diet reasons, so no worries there.

I diced two roma tomatoes, as opposed to using canned tomatoes.

I used 1 garlic clove, as opposed to garlic powder.

I used 1/2 an onion, as opposed to the onion powder.

I was out of cumin, so I added a curry powder mix.

I used brown rice, as opposed to the white rice pictured.

In the Crockpot

I swear, I could smell this cooking when I got home (my windows were open). Overall, I thought it was an okay meal. It wasn’t life changing. The flavors were pretty mild. The corn lost its sweetness from cooking in the crockpot all day. If I were to make it again, I would put the corn in for the last 20 minutes or so. Similarly, the black beans were pretty washed out by the time I served myself, so the same thing there. I also question the name “Santa Fe Chicken.” As a New Mexico transplant, to describe anything as New Mexican there’s a requisite ingredient—chile. Green, red, or both, it needs to be there.

Close Up

Like most things crockpot, the convenience factor is out of this world. It was really nice to come home and have a hot meal ready to eat. There’s something magical about the crockpot and how it works meats. The chicken was so tender and flavorful. Feeling like this weekly crockpot cooking is a good idea.

Leave a Reply

