Blackened Trout with Honey Glazed Carrots & Redskin Potatoes

These days, I’d say that about 95% of the food we are consuming is organic. It feels good to be able to eat organic food almost exclusively. I shop at a grocery store that is pretty focused on “natural foods,” however even at that grocery store only about 1/8 of the produce is organic. That makes it so I am somewhat limited in my produce choices from week-to-week. I used to shop in the none-organic produce section to supplement my weekly shopping, but I got to the point where I decided it needed to be all or nothing. If I was going to commit to eating organic, I need to really eat organic. So I stopped checking out all the (out of season) produce in the non-organic section, and stuck to the organic food.

While shopping this week, I noticed that bunches of organic carrots were on sale. I don’t know what these carrots are really called, but I call them “spring carrots.” They are bigger than baby carrots, but smaller than the carrots you get pre bagged. Any they have the greens still attached. The carrots actually inspired this meal. Funny, since they were a side dish.

I got some steelhead trout a couple weeks back, which I threw in the freezer. I decided to pull it out to make for dinner tonight. When I bought the carrots, I knew I wanted to roast them with a honey glaze. When planning the meal out, I figured a blackening seasoning would compliment the sweet carrots.

Ingredients:

Fish:

1lb of steelhead trout filets

1 teaspoon of of cayenne pepper

1 teaspoon of black pepper

1 teaspoon of white pepper

1 teaspoon of salt

1 teaspoon of thyme

1 teaspoon of oregano

Carrots:

2 bunches of “spring carrots”

Honey

Olive Oil

Potatoes:

1/2 onion, diced

10 mini-red potatoes

2 cloves of garlic

olive oil

Preparation:

1. Preheat the oven to 400 degrees. In a pyrex casserole dish, lay out the carrots in a single layer. Drizzle with olive oil and honey. Bake for about 30-40 minutes, or until soft.

2. Place potatoes in water and bring to a boil. Cook until potatoes are soft.

3. In a frying pan, heat about 2 tablespoons of olive oil, and add the diced onions. Cook over medium high heat, until the onions are soft. Add the potatoes and cook for about 15 minutes, stirring regularly. Cook until the potatoes are browned.

4. Mix the 3 peppers, salt, oregano, and thyme to create a blackening seasoning. Put a tablespoon of olive oil on each of the trout filets. Spread the blackening on the trout.

5. In a hot, oiled skillet, place the trout, blackening side down. Cook for 3-4 minutes on that side, flip and cook for an addition 3-4 minutes, or until done.

To be honest, I did not love my blackening seasoning. Mark loved it though. I thought it was a little heavy on the white pepper, and it needed something else–maybe dried mustard or something. It was still good, just a little spicy for my tastes. However, I was right, the blackened trout went wonderfully with sweet glazed carrots.

Leave a Reply

